Nipples – Wanna Kawee

After the male bit some time ago, the female fad. Beyond the seriously anguishing problem of nipples turned black [ha! ha!] which shows how ignorant a woman can be of her own condition, what is at stake here is a break away from normative morality and self-deception through still deceitful rationalisation of moods and needs. MB

หัวนม

NIPPLES

lactating breast

วรรณะ กวี

WANNA KAWEE

TRANSLATOR’S KITCHEN
เมื่อได้ยินเสียงลูกร้อง ฉันอุ้มแกไว้ในอ้อมกอด ปลดกระดุมเสื้อช่วงบน ก้มลงมองทรวงอกของตัวเอง ฉันรู้สึกขยะแขยงหัวนมที่ดำเหมือนถูกป้ายด้วยยาฝาด แต่ฉันรู้อยู่แก่ใจว่าไม่ได้ป้ายยา เพราะลูกยังไม่หย่านม When I hear my child cry, I take him into my arms, unbutton the top of my blouse and lower my head to look at my breasts. I feel repulsed by my nipples which are black as if smeared with tannin but I know in my heart that they haven’t been smeared with any medicine because my son has yet to be weaned. A question often asked: how do you decide to translate in the present or past tense? Here the answer is obvious with the change of narrative pace from the first (present) to the second paragraph (recent past, marked by ‘since’).
ตั้งแต่มีลูก สภาพต่างๆ ในร่างกายของฉันได้เปลี่ยนแปลงไป หัวนมดำขึ้น ตัวอ้วนขึ้น ผมยาวรุงรัง มีผดผื่นขึ้นเต็มหลัง เขามักมองฉันด้วยสายตาเย็นชา ดวงตาแห้งแล้งว่างเปล่าของเขาทิ่มแทงใจฉันให้ปวดปร่า เขากำลังเปลี่ยนไปพร้อมสภาพร่างกายของฉัน Since I gave birth many things in my body have changed. My nip- ples have darkened, my breasts have swollen, my hair has grown longer and messy, my back is covered with rashes from prickly heat. He looks at me mostly with indifference. His dry empty eyes pierce my heart and it hurts. He’s changing with the changes in my body.
หลังจากฉันแต่งงานกับเขาได้สองเดือน หมอบอกว่าฉันตั้งครรภ์ได้สามเดือนแล้ว ไม่มีใครรู้ว่าฉันมีอะไรกับเขาก่อนแต่งงาน ฉันไม่เคยเล่าให้ใครฟัง แม้แต่พิมพ์แก้วเพื่อนสนิทที่สุดของฉัน ฉันมักยืนยันกับเธอว่าฉันเป็นผู้หญิงรักนวลสงวนตัว ฉันไม่อยากให้ใครรู้ว่าแท้ที่จริงแล้วฉันก็ไม่ได้แตกต่างไปจากคนอื่นๆ Two months after we got mar- ried, the doctor told me I was three months’ pregnant – nobody knew I’d been sleeping with him before marriage. I never told anyone, not even Phimkaeo, my closest friend. I always insisted with her that I was chaste. I didn’t want anyone to know that in fact I was no different from anyone else.
“ผู้หญิงที่ยอมเสียตัวง่ายๆ เป็นผู้หญิงที่อ่อนแอ” ‘Women who give in easily are weak.’
“ฉันว่าเราไม่น่าจะตัดสินใครอย่างนั้น ฉันไม่รู้หรอกนะว่าอารมณ์ขณะนั้นเป็นยังไง เพราะฉันไม่เคยมีใคร แต่ฉันคิดว่าฉันจะไม่ยอมผู้ชายคนไหนง่ายๆ หรอก” ‘I think we shouldn’t judge anyone like that. I don’t know how it feels when the mood strikes because I’ve never had anybody, but I think I’ll never give in easily to any man.’
พิมพ์แก้วเพื่อนของฉันมักกล่าวย้ำเช่นนี้เสมอ เธอทำให้ฉันต้องกลายเป็นมนุษย์ลวงโลก เธอทำให้ฉันเสียดายความภาคภูมิที่ฉันเพิ่งสูญเสียไป Phimkaeo, my friend, was always stating this. She made a deceiver of me. She made me regret the pride I had just lost.
ฉันเป็นของเขาในค่ำคืนที่ฉันไปหาเขาที่คอนโดมิเนียม นั่นเป็นห้องของเขา เตียงของเขา ฉันต่างหากที่เข้าไปก้าวก่ายโลกส่วนตัวของเขา ฉันไปหาเขาด้วยความเร่าร้อนในใจ ทุกอาทิตย์ฉันจะต้องพบหน้าเขา ถ้าเขาไม่มาหาฉัน ฉันก็ต้องไปหาเขา ความต้องการใกล้ชิดเรียกร้องให้ฉันกล้า ไม่ว่าฉันจะเคยคิดว่า … ผู้หญิงที่ไปหาผู้ชายก่อนเป็นผู้หญิงที่ไร้ศักดิ์ศรี I became his on the night I went to see him at his block of flats. That was his room, his bed. It was I who broke into his privacy. I went to see him out of excitement. Every week I had to see him. If he didn’t come to see me I had to go and see him. The need for intimacy made me daring, for all my previous thinking that women who went to see men had no dignity.
“อย่าเพิ่งไปตัดสินอะไรง่ายๆ อย่างนั้นเลย บางทีเธอเองก็ยังไม่รู้ภาวะอารมณ์ของผู้หญิงกับผู้ชายที่ใกล้ชิดกัน แต่ถ้าเป็นฉัน ฉันก็คงไม่ไปหาผู้ชายก่อน เพราะฉันรู้ว่ามันอันตราย” ‘Don’t be so judgmental. Maybe you don’t know the power of the mood of a woman with a man when they are close. But if it were me, I wouldn’t be the one to go and see a man, because I know it’s dangerous.’
พิมพ์แก้วพยายามทำให้ฉันดูถูกตัวเองตามความคิดเก่าๆ ที่ฉันได้รับอิทธิพลมาจากครอบครัว ฉันกำลังจะกลายเป็นผู้หญิงที่ไร้ศักดิ์ศรีและอ่อนแอ ในส่วนลึกฉันรู้ว่าฉันผิดต่อค่านิยมและประเพณี ผิดต่อความรู้สึกของตนเอง ผิดต่อวิสัยทัศน์ที่ตนเองพยายามคิดสร้าง และผิดต่อภาพสวยงามที่ฉันวาดไว้อำพรางตัวตน ฉันยังย้ำเสียงแข็งต่อหน้าพิมพ์แก้วว่า “ฉันจะเป็นผู้หญิงบริสุทธิ์จนถึงวันแต่งงาน” Phimkaeo was trying to make me despise myself according to the old beliefs instilled in me by my family. I was becoming a woman without dignity and weak. Deep down I knew I was going against social values and tradition, against my own feelings, against the ideas I was trying to uphold and against the beautiful image I had of myself. Before Phimkaeo, I still insisted, raising my voice, that ‘I’ll stay chaste until my wedding.’
“ก็ดีนะ ฉันภูมิใจที่มีเพื่อนอย่างเธอ” ‘That’s good. I’m proud to have a friend like you.’
ใบหน้าของฉันร้อนผ่าว รู้สึกเสียววาบในใจเมื่อรู้ทั้งรู้ว่าสิ่งที่พูดไปนั้นไม่จริง… My face flushed hot, a thrill of pain seared through my heart, knowing full well that what I said was not true.
พิมพ์แก้วทำให้ฉันหวาดกลัว ถ้าเธอรู้ว่าฉันไม่ได้เป็นอย่างที่พูด เธอจะยังภูมิใจที่มีเพื่อน อย่างฉันอยู่ไหม บางทีฉันอาจจะเป็นสัตว์ตัวเมียที่ไร้ศักดิ์ศรีไปเลยก็ได้ ใครจะรู้ว่ากรง- กรอบความคิดของผู้หญิงที่มีแบบแผนของความเป็นผู้หญิงจะรู้สึกอย่างไรกับการกระทำของฉัน I was scared of Phimkaeo. If she knew I wasn’t as I said, would she still be proud to have a friend like that? I might become a female in heat devoid of dignity. Who would know what a woman who had a certain idea of woman would feel about what I had done? =

=

สัตว์ตัวเมีย: literally, ‘a female animal’.

พิมพ์แก้วไม่เคยมีคนรัก เธอจึงไม่รู้ว่ากลิ่นไอของผู้ชายมีพลังดึงดูดเพียงใด ฉันพยายามแล้ว … ฉันไม่อยากให้อารมณ์ปรารถนากระตุ้นเร้า ขณะนั้น … ฉันถ่วงเวลาด้วยการดูวิดีโอตอนแรกเขาเลือกหนังการ์ตูนที่ฉันดูไม่รู้เรื่อง ฉันไม่ชอบหนังการ์ตูนญี่ปุ่นที่มีหลายร้อยตอนจบ ฉันเป็นคนเปลี่ยนม้วนวิดีโอ ฉันเลือกหยิบหนังเอ๊กซ์… Phimkaeo has never had a boyfriend, so she doesn’t know how strong the power of attraction of a man can be. I tried … I didn’t want desire to carry me away to that extent … I played for time by watching a video. At first he chose a cartoon, to which I understood nothing. I don’t like Japanese animation films that go on for hundreds of frames. I was the one who changed the video. I picked up an X-rated movie.
=
ลูกร้องอีกแล้ว … ฉันบีบหัวนมเพื่อเร่งให้น้ำนมไหลแรง ปากเล็กๆ ดูดอย่างหื่นกระหาย เป็นสัมผัสที่แตกต่าง ระหว่างสัมผัสของเด็กและสัมผัสของผู้ชาย สัมผัสของเขามากกว่าที่เป็นต้นเหตุทำให้หัวนมของฉันดำ คงไม่ใช่สัมผัสของลูก ปากเล็กขนาดนี้ แรงกระจ้อยร่อยแค่นี้ จะทำให้หัวนมฉันไม่น่าดูได้หรือ ฉันนึกไปถึงคำพูดของพิมพ์แก้ว “หัวนมเธอน่าเกลียดจัง เพราะมีผัวหรือมีลูกกันแน่” My son is crying again … I squeeze my nipple to increase the flow of milk. The little mouth sucks with obvious hunger. The contact of the mouth of a child feels different from that of a man. The contact of his mouth is more likely to have caused my nipples to turn black, not the child’s suction. How could a small mouth like that with such feeble sucking power turn my nipples unsightly? I recall Phimkaeo saying, ‘Your nipples look awful. Is that because of your husband or because of your child?’ [I won’t vouch for the veracity of man’s saliva or enzymes as darkening agent, but I can vouch that there are far too many สัมผัส (contacts) here.]
ฉันลองพยายามนึก ผัวหรือลูกที่ทำให้หัวนมของฉันดำเมี่ยม ฉันนึกไม่ออก ฉันไม่รู้ว่าหัวนมของฉันดำเมี่ยมตั้งแต่เมื่อไหร่ แต่ฉันเชื่อแน่ว่าก่อนหน้านั้นสองปีหัวนมฉันยังเป็นสีชมพู ฉันภูมิใจกับทรวงอกที่แน่นเต่งตึงและไม่เคยถูกใช้งาน จนกระทั่งพบกับเขา… I try to think which of the two turned my nipples black like that. I can’t figure it out. I don’t know since when my nipples have been this black, but I’m certain that in the two years before that my nipples were pink. I was proud of my firm and ample chest that had never been used until I met him.
=
หนังมีบทแจ่มชัดทางเพศทำให้ฉันรู้สึกสยิวที่หน้าท้องจนไปถึงช่วงขา เขาเองก็หายใจแรงและลุกไปเข้าห้องน้ำ ฉันไม่อาจทนดูฉากที่เร่งเร้ามากไปกว่านี้ได้อีกแล้ว ฉันปิดวิดีโอและนอนหงายลงบนเตียง ผ่อนลมหายใจออกมาเสียงดัง The film with its explicit sex scenes made me feel thrills down there. As for him, he was breathing hard and he got up to go to the bathroom. I couldn’t bear watching any more exciting scenes than this. I stopped the video and lay down on my back on the bed, taking deep loud breaths. ที่หน้าท้องจนไปถึงช่วงขา: literally, ‘from the front of the belly to the spread of the legs’.
เขาเดินออกจากห้องน้ำ มองดูฉันด้วยดวงตาเปี่ยมชีวิตชีวา มันมีพลังปลุกเร้าและมีอำนาจน่าพิศวง จากดวงตาคู่นั้นฉันรู้ว่าเขากำลังตั้งคำถามกับฉันมากมาย He walked out of the bathroom, looked at me with eyes overflow-ing with life. They had an amaz-ingly rousing power. With those eyes I knew he was asking me many questions.
แล้วฉันเล่า ฉันมีคำถามในใจที่อยากหาคำตอบ ฉันอยากรู้ว่าเขาดูหนังแล้วรู้สึกอย่างไร เขาเข้าห้องน้ำไปทำอะไร ฉันอยากถามเขาหรือ … ไม่หรอก ฉันไม่กล้าพอจะฟังคำตอบ ถ้าเขาตอบว่าเขารู้สึกวาบหวิวที่ช่วงขาเช่นเดียวกับฉันเล่า ฉันจะว่าอย่างไร นี่ฉันคาดเดาในเรื่องที่กุลสตรีไม่ควรแม้แต่จะคิด And I too had questions in my mind I wanted answers to. I wanted to know how he felt watching that movie, what he had gone into the bathroom for. Was I going to ask him this? Of course not. I wasn’t daring enough to listen to the answers. If he answered that he felt aroused in the crotch as I was, what would I say? I was speculating on what a proper young woman shouldn’t even be thinking about.
=
ลูกเลิกดูดหัวนมดำเมี่ยมแล้ว แกหลับปุ๋ยด้วยความอิ่มเอม ปากกระจิริดยังค้างคาอยู่ที่หัวนม ฉันปลดปากเด็กออกจากหัวนม ช่างง่ายดายเหลือเกิน เด็กไม่ดื้อดึงเหนี่ยวรั้ง แต่ผู้ชายเล่า… My son has stopped suckling my dark nipple. He is deeply asleep now that he is full. His tiny mouth is still around the nipple. I pull him out. It’s so very easy. The child doesn’t resist. But a man…
=
หนังปิดแล้ว แต่อารมณ์ที่เร่าร้อนยังคุกรุ่นอยู่ เขามองฉันด้วยแววตาที่ไม่ต่างจากพระเอกในเรื่อง ฉันอยากรู้ว่าถ้าฉันพลิกตัว เขาจะทำอย่างไร บางทีเขาอาจจะไม่พอใจที่ฉันหลบสายตาของเขา The movie had stopped, but the hot mood kept smouldering. He was looking at me with eyes no different from the lead character in the movie. I wanted to know what he would do if I turned round. Maybe he wouldn’t be pleased when I averted my eyes.
“คุณอยากรู้ไหมว่าฉากต่อไปจะเกิดอะไรขึ้น” เสียงของเขาดังที่ข้างหู ปลุกให้ฉันตกใจ ฉันไม่ได้ตอบด้วยคำพูด แต่ตอบด้วยการกระทำ… ‘Don’t you want to know what happens in the next scene?’ His voice was against my ear, startling me. I didn’t answer with words but answered with deeds…
=
ฉันใช้มือประคองศีรษะลูกค่อยๆ วางแกลงบนเบาะนอน ปล่อยให้เสื้อเปิดอ้าไว้โดยไม่ได้ใส่ใจจะติดกระดุม เวลานี้ฉันไม่จำเป็นต้องอายเขาอีก เขามองทรวงอกฉันด้วยสายตาเย็นชา ไม่เหมือนครั้งนั้น สายตาของเขาทิ่มแทงความรู้สึกของฉัน ร่างกายของฉันเวลานี้ไม่มีส่วนไหนที่จะเร้าความรู้สึกของเขาได้อีก โดยเฉพาะที่หัวนม With my hand cupping his head I gently lay my child down on his sleeping pad. I leave my blouse open as I don’t feel like doing it up. I no longer need to feel embar- rassed in front of him. He looks at my breasts with indifference – unlike that time. His eyes pierce me to the quick. No part of my body these days excites him any longer, especially not the nipples.
ฉันเก็บเอาคำพูดของพิมพ์แก้วมาครุ่นคิด เธอมักพูดเสมอว่า “ผู้ชายอาจจะไม่ชอบผู้หญิงที่ได้มาง่ายเกินไป” I’m still mulling Phimkaeo’s words. She’s always saying, ‘Men probably don’t like women that are too easy.’
พิมพ์แก้วไม่มีเจตนาจะพูดกระทบปมในใจของฉัน เพราะเธอไม่รู้ด้วยซ้ำว่าฉันเป็นอย่างไร ฉันปรุงแต่งให้ตัวเองเป็นผู้หญิงในแบบแผนที่ผู้หญิงด้วยกันวาดหวัง ฉันพยายามเก็บซ่อนความคิดที่ขัดต่อมโนสำนึก Phimkaeo doesn’t intend to hurt me through my weak point, because she doesn’t know what it is. I’ve talked myself into the model woman women hope to be. I try to keep the offending truth hidden.
ฉันไม่รู้ว่าพิมพ์แก้วจะรู้สึกอย่างไร เมื่อเธอเห็นการเปลี่ยนแปลงทางสรีระของฉัน ฉันเห็นเธอมองที่หัวนมของฉัน จึงรีบติดกระดุมเสื้อเพราะไม่อยากให้เธอเห็นความลับบางอย่างที่ฉันพยายามซ่อนเร้น ฉันเผลอคิดไปว่าพิมพ์แก้วเองก็อาจไม่ต่างจากฉัน เธออาจจะเที่ยววาดฝันให้ตัวเองเป็นผู้หญิงบริสุทธิ์ผุดผ่อง แต่แท้ที่จริงแล้วเธอก็พ่ายแพ้ต่อธรรมชาติ I didn’t know how Phimkaeo would feel when she saw the changes in my body. I saw her looking at my nipples so I hastened to button up my blouse, I didn’t want her to see what I was trying to keep secret. I thought idly that she was no different from me: she went about fancying herself chaste and pure but actually had already given in to nature.
“ฉันขอดูหัวนมของเธอหน่อยได้ไหม” ฉันกล่าวขึ้นในวันหนึ่งที่เธอมาเยี่ยมฉันและลูก ฉันเลือกเอาวันนั้นเพราะสามีของฉันไม่อยู่บ้าน ออกไปหางานทำ ฉันต้องการพิสูจน์ความคิดบางอย่างเพื่อความสบายใจของตัวเอง ‘Do you mind if I have a look at your nipples,’ I asked her one day she had come to see me and the baby. I chose that day because my husband wasn’t home: he had gone out to look for work. I wanted to check some thoughts for my peace of mind. [This gives a new meaning to the expression ‘bosom friends’.]
พิมพ์แก้วซ่อนรอยยิ้มไว้ในดวงตา เป็นรอยยิ้มที่เสียดแทงความรู้สึกของลูกผู้หญิง และคำพูดของเธอก็เชือดเฉือนหัวใจของฉันตามประสาผู้หญิงที่รู้ทันกัน Phimkaeo hid a smile in her eyes, the smile of a woman whose feelings are being pricked, and her words pierced my heart as a woman who could see through her as well.
“เธออยากดูหัวนมของฉันเพื่อเธอจะได้รู้ว่าฉันเคยมีอะไรกับผู้ชายมาแล้วหรือยัง เธอไม่คิดว่าบทพิสูจน์ของเธอจะมีข้อผิดพลาดบ้างหรือ ผู้หญิงบางคนอาจจะมีหัวนมดำตั้งแต่กำเนิด เธอจะสรุปว่าเป็นเพราะหล่อนถูกเอ็นไซม์จากน้ำลายผู้ชายเข้าให้แล้วอย่างนั้นหรือ ถ้าสมมุติหัวนมฉันดำ เธอก็จะสรุปว่าฉันเป็นผู้หญิงไม่บริสุทธิ์ เป็นผู้หญิงประเภทเดียวกับที่เธอเคยประณามว่าอ่อนแอและไร้ศักดิ์ศรี เธอจะเอาธรรมชาติในตัวเธอมากำหนดพฤติกรรมของฉัน เธอคิดว่ามันน่าเชื่อถือหรือ” ‘You want to see my nipples to find out if I’ve been with a man yet. Don’t you think that your test is biased? Some women may have black nipples since they were born. Will you conclude they’ve been affected by the enzymes in a man’s saliva like that? Suppose my nipples are black: you’ll decide that I’m not a virgin, that I’m the same kind of woman you used to denounce as weak and without dignity. You’ll take your nature as standard to measure my behaviour: do you think that’s reliable?’
“เปล่า ฉันไม่เคยคิดว่าการที่เธอเคยมีอะไรกับผู้ชายเป็นเรื่องเลวร้าย เวลานี้ฉันกลับคิดว่าผู้หญิงที่ผ่านการมีเพศสัมพันธ์มาแล้วเป็นผู้หญิงที่สมบูรณ์ ผู้หญิงที่ไม่ผ่านตรงนี้ต่างหากที่ขาดส่วนหนึ่งในชีวิตไปอย่างน่าเสียดาย ‘Not at all. I never thought of your going out with men as something bad. But now I’ve come to think that women who have sexual relations are complete women. Those that don’t miss something in life that is regret- table.’ =

=

=

=
อย่างน่าเสียดาย: ‘and that’s a shame’ as alternative translation.

พิมพ์แก้วจ้องฉันเขม็ง แววตาของเธอทะลวงเข้าไปถึงหัวใจของฉัน เป็นครั้งแรกที่เธอมีสายตาก้าวร้าวและชิงชัง Phimkaeo stared at me fixedly. Her eyes bore through me to my very heart. It was the first time they were aggressive and hateful.
“ความคิดของเธอเปลี่ยนไปตามการกระทำ เธอทนอยู่กับการประณามตัวเองไม่ได้ และเธอก็เปลี่ยนจากการประณามผู้หญิงที่เสียตัวก่อนแต่งงานมาประณามผู้หญิงที่เคยผ่านผู้ชายแทน ฉันก็อยากรู้เหมือนกันว่าเธอจะตัดสินจากความคิดในอดีตของเธอหรือความคิดในปัจจุบันของเธอ เธออยากเห็นหัวนมของฉันจริงๆ หรือ” ‘Your thinking has changed according to your behaviour. You couldn’t stand blaming yourself, so you’ve changed from belittling women who made love before they got married to belittling those that have never slept with a man instead. Well, I’d like to know if it’s your former or your present frame of mind making you decide. Do you really want to see my nipples?’
พิมพ์แก้วค่อยๆ ปลดกระดุมเสื้อของเธอ ฉันถามตัวเองว่าแน่ใจแล้วหรือที่อยากเห็นหัวนมของพิมพ์แก้ว ถ้าหัวนมเธอดำเมี่ยมเหมือนอย่างฉัน ฉันจะสรุปทันทีว่าเธอเคยเสียตัวแล้วหรือ อาจจะไม่ใช่อย่างนั้นก็ได้ ผู้หญิงบางคนมีหัวนมดำมาตั้งแต่เกิด โดยที่มันไม่เคยสัมผัสน้ำลายของผู้ชาย น่าเสียดายที่ฉันไม่เคยสังเกตหัวนมของพิมพ์แก้วมาก่อน เราเคยอาบน้ำห้องเดียวกันในสมัยอยู่มหาวิทยาลัยช่วงไปเที่ยวทะเล ตอนนั้นฉันไม่เคยสนใจปัญหาเรื่องหัวนมดำเลย แต่ทำไมเวลานี้ฉันจะต้องคิดว่าเรื่องนี้เป็นเรื่องสำคัญที่สุดในชีวิตลูกผู้หญิง ฉันกลายเป็นแม่ลูกอ่อนที่เอาแต่เสียดายความสาวบริสุทธิ์ Phimkaeo slowly undid her blouse. I asked myself if I was certain I wanted to see her nipples. If they were black like mine, would I conclude there and then that she was no longer a virgin? Maybe that wasn’t the case. Some women have black nipples from birth without ever being in contact with man’s saliva. Too bad I had never noticed Phimkaeo’s nipples before. We had showered in the same room in our university years when we went to the seaside. At the time I wasn’t interested in the colour of nipples, but how was it that now I thought this was of utmost importance in the life of a woman? I had become a mother who regretted the chastity of youth.
อาจเป็นเพราะเขา… Maybe it was because of him…
เขาทำลายความมั่นใจทุกสิ่งที่ฉันมี เขาทำให้ฉันต้องเปลี่ยนความคิด และหาข้อแก้ตัวให้กับความผิดพลาด ฉันกลายเป็นผู้หญิงที่ล้มเหลวในชีวิต มีลูกในขณะที่ยังไม่พร้อม ช่วงเวลาก่อนหน้าที่เขากับฉันจะแต่งงานกัน เขากำลังตกงาน ฉันจึงมีเวลาอยู่กับเขาโดยไม่สนใจว่าอนาคตจะเป็นอย่างไร เขาบอกว่ารักฉัน และฉันก็รู้สึกว่ารักเขา การมีเพศสัมพันธ์กับเขาเป็นความสุขที่ฉันไม่อาจปฏิเสธ He had destroyed every bit of self-confidence I used to have. He had made me change my mind and look for excuses for my mistake. I’d become a failure in life as a woman, having a child at a time when I wasn’t ready. Before we got married, he lost his job, so I had time to be with him without giving a thought to what the future would be like. He told me he loved me and I felt I loved him. Having sexual relations with him was hap- piness I cannot deny.
ฉันกับเขามีอะไรเกินเลยในคอนโดมิเนียมของเขาอยู่หลายครั้ง เขาพอใจและฉันก็พอใจ แล้วฉันยังยืนยันเสียงแข็งกับพิมพ์แก้วว่าฉันยังบริสุทธิ์ เพราะฉันยังไม่พร้อมที่จะสูญเสียความมั่นใจ ฉันจะตีสีหน้าอย่างไร ถ้าพิมพ์แก้วรู้ว่าฉันทำในสิ่งที่ฉันเคยประณาม ฉันคิดว่าจะปิดเรื่องนี้ไว้เป็นความลับ จนกระทั่ง … ฉันท้อง He and I thus went beyond bounds in his block of flats many times. He enjoyed it and I enjoyed it too, and I was still adamant with Phimkaeo that I was a virgin because I wasn’t ready yet to lose my self-esteem. How would I behave if she knew I was doing what I used to hold in contempt? I thought I’d keep this a secret … until I fell pregnant.
“เธอคลอดก่อนกำหนดหรือ” พิมพ์แก้วถามด้วยน้ำเสียงเคร่งเครียด ฉันรู้ว่าเธอต้องการคำอธิบายมากกว่านั้น ฉันรู้สึกหงุดหงิด กระวนกระวายและอารมณ์เสีย ‘Isn’t the birth premature,’ Phimkaeo asked in a strained tone of voice. I knew she wanted some sort of explanation from me. I felt irritated, anxious and cranky. =

=

===อารมณ์เสีย = in a bad mood, upset, cranky

“เธอคิดว่าฉันท้องก่อนแต่งอย่างนั้นสิ” ฉันแดกดันพิมพ์แก้วไปอย่างขาดสติ เธอมีสีหน้างงงันและไม่กล้าแตะต้องฉันอีก ฉันไม่รู้ว่าเธอคิดอย่างไร ฉันเฝ้ารอว่าเธอจะพูดอะไรขึ้นมาอีก แล้วเธอก็พูดขึ้นว่า “ก็ไม่เห็นเป็นไรเลย เป็นเรื่องที่เรากำหนดไม่ได้ ใครจะกำหนดได้เป๊ะๆ” ‘You must be thinking I got preg- nant before marriage,’ I taunted her, taking leave of my senses. She was taken aback and didn’t dare to touch me again. I didn’t know what she thought. I waited to see what she would say. And then she spoke, saying ‘It’s no big deal. It’s something we can’t schedule. Who could make it happen right on the dot?’
เหมือนฟ้าผ่าเปรี้ยงที่ก้อนสมองของฉัน ความคิดในสมองทั้งหมดรั่วไหล As that thunderbolt struck my head, all thoughts shattered in my brain.
“เธอรู้ใช่ไหมว่าฉันท้องกับเขาก่อนแต่งงาน” ‘You always knew, didn’t you, I’d fallen pregnant before marriage?’
ฉันไม่รู้และฉันก็ไม่เคยแน่ใจ ตลอดเวลาฉันเชื่อคำพูดของเธอ” ‘I didn’t, not for sure anyway. I’ve always believed what you said to me.’ ฉันไม่รู้และฉันก็ไม่เคยแน่ใจ: literally, ‘I didn’t know and I was never sure’.
ฉันพยายามต่อสู้กับความคิดเก่าๆ ผู้หญิงที่ยอมเสียตัวง่ายๆ เป็นผู้หญิงที่อ่อนแอ ผู้หญิงที่ไปหาผู้ชายก่อนเป็นผู้หญิงที่ไร้ศักดิ์ศรี ฉันอยากจะกรีดร้องว่าไม่ ฉันเข้มแข็งและฉันก็มีศักดิ์ศรี I tried to fight with the old thinking. Women who were easy were weak. Women who went to see men first were women without dignity. I wanted to shout no, I was strong and I had dignity.
=
พิมพ์แก้วกำลังปลดตะขอเสื้อชั้นในออกแล้ว ฉันหันหน้าไปอีกทาง เวลานี้ฉันหวาดกลัวต่อความเป็นจริง ฉันกำลังต้องการพิสูจน์ความเข้มแข็งและศักดิ์ศรีของผู้หญิงอีกคนด้วยการขอดูหัวนม เท่านี้เองหรือที่จะช่วยฉันเรียกร้องความมั่นใจกลับคืนมา แล้วถ้าหัวนมของพิมพ์แก้วยังเป็นสีชมพูบริสุทธิ์อยู่เล่า Phimkaeo had unhooked her brassiere. I looked away. By now I was afraid of the truth. I wanted to assess the strength and dignity of another woman by looking at her nipples. Was that enough to help me recover my confidence? And then what if her nipples were still a pure pink?
ฉันรีบเอามือปิดตาตัวเอง ร้องขึ้นเหมือนกำลังถูกข่มขู่ให้ดูเหตุการณ์สยองขวัญ “ไม่ ฉันไม่อยากรู้แล้วว่าหัวนมเธอจะดำหรือเปล่า ไม่ว่าหัวนมเธอจะมีดำหรือไม่ มันก็ไม่ได้เป็นข้อพิสูจน์เสมอไปว่าเธอเคยผ่านผู้ชายมาแล้ว” I hastily covered my eyes with my hands, shouted out as if I was being forced to watch something horrifying, ‘No, I don’t want to know whether your nipples are black or not! It isn’t a good enough proof to know whether you’ve slept with a man or not.’
“ถ้าเธอไม่หักหลังตัวเอง เธอจะเชื่อมั่นคนอื่นง่ายกว่านี้ ความจริงเธอไม่ต้องขอฉันดูหัวนมหรอก ถามฉันก็ได้ว่าฉันเคยมีอะไรกับผู้ชายหรือเปล่า ฉันไม่เหมือนเธอหรอก ถ้าฉันเคยมีอะไรกับใคร ฉันจะไม่ปฏิเสธความจริงด้วยการหลอกตัวเอง แต่ความจริงก็คือฉันไม่เคย…ทั้งๆ ที่อยาก” ‘If you weren’t deceiving your- self, you’d believe others more easily than this. Actually, you didn’t have to ask to see my nipples, simply asking me if I’d slept with a man or not was enough. I’m not like you. I don’t mind. If I’d been with someone I wouldn’t deny the truth by deceiving myself, but the truth is I never have … even though I’d like to.’
“เธอยอมรับว่าเธออยากหรือ” ฉันถามพิมพ์แก้วด้วยน้ำเสียงที่ขาดความมั่นใจ แต่เธอโต้กลับด้วยน้ำเสียงตรงกันข้าม “ฉันอาจจะยอมรับมันด้วยคำพูด แต่ไม่เคยยอมรับด้วยการกระทำ” ‘You admit you’d like to, then,’ I asked Phimkaeo in a voice devoid of confidence, but she, on the other hand, answered back with-out hesitation, ‘I admit it in words but I don’t admit it in deeds.’
“บางครั้งคำพูดกับการกระทำของมนุษย์อาจจะสวนทางกันโดยสิ้นเชิง” ‘Sometimes human words and human deeds are radically dif- ferent.’
ฉันสรุปปรัชญาง่ายๆ นี้ให้พิมพ์แก้วพิจารณา เธอจ้องมองฉันนิ่งและนาน ก่อนจะพูดว่า “เธอไม่เหมือนฉันเลย ปรัชญาในการดำรงชีวิตง่ายๆ ของฉันก็คือ เชื่อในสิ่งที่ตัวเองกระทำ แต่ไม่ควรเชื่อในสิ่งที่ตัวเองคิด เราอาจจะคิดดีแค่ไหนก็ได้ แต่ถ้าเรายังไม่ได้กระทำ นั่นก็ไม่ใช่ความจริง เธอเคยมีอะไรกับผู้ชาย แต่เธอไม่กล้ายอมรับ เธอปกปิด ตื่นกลัว หวาดระแวง เธอวาดตัวตนที่เธอไม่ได้เป็นขึ้นมาหลอกตัวเองและหลอกฉัน เพียงเพราะเธอไม่เชื่อในสิ่งที่ตัวเองกระทำ แต่เธอเชื่อในสิ่งที่เธอคิด ผู้หญิงทุกคนอยากมีอะไรกับผู้ชายทั้งนั้น มันเป็นกฎธรรมชาติ ประเพณี ค่านิยม ศีลธรรม เป็นเพียงกลไกเพื่อป้องกันความขัดแย้ง หลายคนพยายามอำพรางตัวเองว่าอยู่ในประเพณี ค่านิยม ศีลธรรม แต่การกระทำจริงๆ กลับสวนทางโดยสิ้นเชิง ฉันคิดว่าฉันกำลังหาจังหวะที่จะมีอะไรกับผู้ชายอยู่ แต่ยังไม่ถึงเวลา และบางทีก็ไม่ต้องแต่งงานทั้งก่อนและหลัง” I dropped this commonplace for her consideration. She stared at me without moving for quite a while before saying, ‘You’re not at all like me. The philosophy of my life is simply to believe in what I do but not necessarily in what I think. No matter how right we think, as long as we don’t act the way we think it isn’t true. You slept with a man but you wouldn’t accept it, you hid it away, you were afraid, suspicious. You clung to what you were not to deceive yourself and to deceive me, simply because you didn’t believe in what you were doing but in what you were thinking. All women want to get involved with men; it’s a law of nature, a custom, part of social and moral values; it’s simply a way of avoiding rebuke. Many try to deceive themselves by thinking that they abide by custom, social norms and morality, but their behaviour is the exact opposite. I think I’m on the lookout for an opportunity to go out with a man but the time hasn’t come yet and maybe I won’t have to get married before or after, either.’
ฉันมองลึกเข้าไปในแววตาของพิมพ์แก้ว ในม่านตาที่กำลังขยายกว้างได้เปิดตัวตนของเธออย่างแจ้งชัด และเธอก็ไม่ต้องปลดตะขอเสื้อให้เห็นหัวนม I looked deep into Phimkaeo’s eyes. Her widening irises were explicit and she didn’t have to show me her nipples.
=
เสียงร้องของลูกดังกลบความคิดทั้งหมด ฉันอุ้มลูกขึ้นมากอด บางทีฉันไม่จำเป็นต้องคิดถึงเรื่องหัวนมอีกแล้วถ้าฉันยึดปรัชญาง่ายๆ ของพิมพ์แก้วมาใช้บ้าง ฉันอาจจะเชื่อในสิ่งที่ฉันกระทำนี้ทั้งหมดโดยไม่ต้องอำพรางเอาไว้ด้วยกรงกรอบดั้งเดิมที่ทำให้ฉันสูญเสียความมั่นใจ My son’s cries banish all thoughts. I take him into my arms. I don’t have to think about my nipples any longer. If I extend Phimkaeo’s easy wisdom to myself, I’ll believe in all that I am doing without deceiving myself with the old frame of thought that made me lose confidence.
ฉันอาจเป็นผู้หญิงหัวนมดำที่ไม่ต้องการเรียกร้องความบริสุทธิ์กลับคืนอีกแล้ว และฉันควรจะเชื่อในสิ่งที่ฉันได้กระทำ จนกระทั่งได้มีเจ้าตัวเล็กขึ้นมารับช่วงใช้หัวนมนี้ต่อจากคนเป็นพ่อ I’m a woman with black nipples who doesn’t want a return to chastity anymore and I should believe in what I do, as long as the little one helps himself to these nipples when the man that is his father is done with them.
= ‘Hua nom’ in Chor Karrakeit 38, 1998
Wanna Kawee is the pen name
for ‘grownup books’ of a prolific
and precocious writer of children’s literature she signs Wanthanee Wiboonkeerati (another pen name). She says she had her first story published at 8!
.wantani

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment