Deception – Phairoj Boonprakob

Who is deceiving whom, the young man of 54 or the saucy wife that be? A matter of perspective, I guess. MB
ooo

ความจริงลวง

DECEPTION

 
beer beerx  

ไพโรจน์ บุญประกอบ

Phairoj Boonprakob

Pronounced phai.roat bun.pra.korp
     
= == TRANSLATOR’S KITCHEN
ผมดื่มเบียร์ขวดที่สองอย่างแช่มชื่น เบียร์มันดีตรงที่มันเย็นและขมลิ้นพอประมาณ I drink a second bottle of beer with gusto. Beer is good in that it’s cool and reasonably bitter to the tongue.  
วันนี้ไม่ว่าอะไรก็ดีพอประมาณสำหรับผมไปเสียหมด ทุกอย่างทำให้ผมรื่นรมย์และพอใจ ผมไม่ชอบอะไรที่ดีมากเกินประมาณ มันไม่น่าไว้วางใจ และร้อยทั้งร้อยจะตามมาด้วยความทุกข์สาหัส Today everything is reasonably good to me. Everything makes me happy and satisfied. I don’t like what is unreason- ably good. It isn’t to be trusted and is one hundred per cent followed by harsh suffering.  
ชายหนุ่มอายุห้าสิบสี่อย่างผม จัดเจนพอที่จะรับเอาความสุขพอประมาณ ไม่กระสันกระเสือกกระสนไขว่คว้าความสุขหวือหวาฉูดฉาด ตระหนักดีว่าชีวิตกลางๆ น่ะดีที่สุด มั่นคงปลอด- ภัย ไร้กังวล และปลอดเชื้อแห่งความทุกข์ A man of fifty-four like me is experi- enced enough to enjoy a reasonable amount of happiness, neither craving for nor striving to grab exciting flashy happiness, well aware that moderation in life is best, safe, free from worry and immune from suffering.  
หนังสือที่ผมทำอยู่เจ๊งไปเมื่อวาน เจ๊งในขณะที่ผมกำลังนึกเบื่องานอยู่พอดี ความสุขจึงวิ่งเข้ามาหาผมอย่างที่ใครก็มิอาจสกัดกั้นมันไว้ได้ The paper I was working for went bankrupt yesterday, just as I had got bored with that work, so happiness has run up to me that no one can prevent. หนังสือ is usually a book, but the word can refer to anything written. Here, it is short for หนังสือพิมพ์ (newspaper).
เมื่อเย็นวานระเรื่อยไปจนถึงสี่ทุ่ม ผมนั่งมึนและอร่อยกับลาบ น้ำตกอยู่ในร้านริมถนนคนละมุมเมืองกับสำนักงาน ผมไม่อยากเจอใครที่ทำหนังสือเล่มนี้ด้วยกัน เบื่อจะฟังเรื่องเกี่ยวกับมัน เบื่อจะพูดถึงมันอีก เลยหนีไปดื่มกินไกลๆ มีความสุขส่วนตัวพอท้วมๆ By ten last night I was sitting dizzy, enjoying larp and narm tok* in a road- side shop across town from the office. I didn’t want to meet any of my co- workers, was fed up listening to stories about our paper, fed up talking about it again, so I’d fled to drink and eat far away, to have a modicum of private happiness. * North-eastern fare. Larp is spicy salad of minced beef, pork, chicken or catfish with mint, onion and lemon grass; narm tok is sliced grilled beef salad.
กลับถึงบ้านอารมณ์ครื้นเครงของผมยังไม่มอด เลยนั่งทอดหุ่ยดื่มต่ออีก เมียก็แสนดี อุตส่าห์นั่งเป็นเพื่อนอยู่สักพัก พร้อมกระเซ้าเย้าแหย่ “ฉันไม่เคยเห็นคนตกงานที่ไหนมีความสุขอย่างเธอเล้ย…” พอให้ชีวิตคู่ม่วนชื่น Back home my boisterous mood wasn’t dampened so I lazed around, drinking on. My good wife sat down to keep me company for a while and teased, ‘I’ve never seen anyone who lost his job as happy as you are.’ That was enough for our life as a couple to be cheerful.  
สักตีสองหรือมากน้อยกว่านั้นนิดหน่อย ตาชักพร่า ความจำชักเสื่อม ผมก็เข้านอนคนละห้องกับเมีย เพราะเธอคงนึกว่าผมเข้าไปนอนกับเธอแล้วจึงล็อกห้องแน่นหนา Around two in the morning, my eyes suddenly turned blurry, my memory suddenly declined. I went to bed in an- other bedroom than my wife’s because she must have thought I had come to sleep with her and she had locked the door. หรือมากน้อยกว่านั้นนิดหน่อย (or a little more or less than that) need not be translated other than with ‘around’.
ผมหลับลึกอย่างมีคุณภาพ ไม่มีฝันร้ายรบกวน ตื่นเกือบแปดโมงเช้าเลยอดเจอหน้าเมีย เธอไปทำงานแล้ว I slept deep, quality sleep. No night- mare to bother me. I woke up a little before eight in the morning, so missed seeing my wife who’d already gone to work.  
เข้าห้องน้ำห้องท่า ซดน้ำชากาแฟ อ่านหนังสือพิมพ์ ร่างกายและจิตใจตื่นเต็มที่ ไม่มีงัวเงียเบื่อหน่าย ไม่มีอารมณ์ทางร้าย โลกสุดสวยโสภี เที่ยงเศษๆ ผมแต่งตัวอย่างดีออกจากบ้าน I went to the bathroom, drank some coffee, read the paper, body and soul fully awake, no drowsy boredom, no bad mood, the world beautiful. Past twelve I dressed up and went out of the house. I must say น้ำชากาแฟ (tea coffee) perplexed me. The ‘reasonable’ narrator seems to be cultivating imprecision.
คนเราทำงานหามรุ่งหามค่ำมานานๆ พอมีเวลาว่างบ้างอะไรๆ ก็ดูดีไปหมด ผมบริหารชีวิตโดยการตกงานเป็นระยะๆ เสมอมา ผมจึงสดชื่นกระปรี้กระเปร่ากว่าหนุ่มวัยเดียวกันจนเป็นที่อิจฉาตาร้อนของเพื่อนๆ ผู้มักจะทำท่าหวังดี แต่จริงๆ ไม่ค่อยจะหวังดีเท่าไหร่ When after working hard from dawn to dusk we have some leisure, everything looks great. I’ve always managed life by losing my job from time to time, so I’m fresher and livelier than young men my age which makes my friends, who pretend to wish me well, actually envy me.

=

=

=

=

อิจฉาตาร้อน: literally, ‘jealous with hot eyes’, that is, extremely jealous or envious.

ออกมาจากบ้านแล้วผมก็ไม่ได้ไปไหนที่เป็นภาระ เป็นการเป็นงาน ผมนั่งแท็กซี่ คอยดูมิเตอร์ให้มันได้ราคาเกือบๆ ร้อยแล้วบอกให้เขาจอดให้ไปร้อยหนึ่งไม่ต้องทอนก่อนลงจากรถ As I left the house I didn’t go any- where strenuous or serious. I took a taxi, watched the meter until it almost reach- ed one hundred and told the driver to stop. I gave him one hundred baht – keep the change – before I stepped out of the car.  
ความเหมาะเจาะที่หาซื้อไม่ได้ด้วยเงินหรืออำนาจใดๆ เกิดแก่ผมอย่างน่าชื่นใจ แท็กซี่มาจอดตรงหน้าร้านเบียร์พอดี ไม่ให้ต้องเสียเวลาเดินหาจนเหนื่อยร้อน Serendipity that can’t be bought with money or power delightedly happened to me: the taxi had stopped right in front of a beer shop; no need to waste time tiring myself looking for one.  
เป็นร้านที่มีบุคลิกภาพน่านั่งเสียด้วย นั่งโต๊ะริมมองผ่านกระจกออกไปเห็นนิยายชีวิต ตัวละครเป็นคน เป็นรถ เป็นสรรพสิ่งของ นานๆ ทีมีหมามาเข้าฉากด้วย Besides, it was a shop whose per- sonality made it well worth patronising, sitting at a side table looking through a pane at the novel of life outside whose characters were people, were cars, were things, with once in a while a dog enter- ing the scene as well.  
ผมนั่งลิ้มรสชีวิตด้วยความสำนึกในบุญคุณของการมีชีวิต ดื่มช้าๆ ละเลียดความรื่นรมย์ ผมเพิ่งเริ่มเบียร์ขวดที่สอง ความแช่มชื่นเปี่ยมล้นในหัวใจ I sat tasting life, fully conscious of the blessing of being alive, drank slowly, nibbling at it pleasurably. As I started on the second bottle of beer, cheerfulness filled my heart to the brim.  
ร้านนี้คนไม่แน่นจนน่าอึดอัดเสียความเป็นส่วนตัว แต่ก็ไม่ว่างโหวงจนเหงา มีลูกค้าแวะเวียนเข้าออกพอประมาณ เจ้าของร้านอยู่ได้และลูกค้าอย่างผมมีความสุข This shop didn’t have so many cust- omers that you felt uncomfortable at the lack of privacy, but it wasn’t empty as to feel forlorn. There was a reasonable flow of customers in and out. The shop owner could make a living and custom- ers like me were happy.  
ละสายตาจากนิยายชีวิตข้างถนน ผมก็มีที่พักสายตาภายในร้าน หญิงสาวหุ่นเพรียวบางทว่ามีความอั๋นในความบางคนนั้นคงจะถูกชะตาผมอยู่ไม่น้อย หล่อนยิ้มให้ผมทุกครั้งที่สบตากัน และด้วยความที่เป็นคนสายตายาว ผมจึงเห็นชัดเจนว่าหล่อนยิ้มทั้งปากทั้งตา Looking away from the novel of life on the roadside, I had plenty to rest my eyes on inside the shop. That woman, slender but plump in her slenderness, I quite fancied. She smiled at me every time our eyes met and as I’m far-sight- ed I could see clearly that she smiled with both mouth and eyes.  
ใครจะเถียงว่านี่ไม่ใช่ความสุข Who would argue this wasn’t happi- ness?  
ผมเหมือนคนลอยคออยู่ในกระแสน้ำแห่งความสุข ไม่ต้องเหนื่อยยากออกแรงว่าย เพียงประคองตัวให้กระแสนั้นโลมไล้ผ่านผิวกายผมไป ความแช่มชื่นชุ่มฉ่ำเปลี่ยนมือกันโอบกอดผมไว้ไม่ขาดสาย It felt like floating up to my chin in a flow of happiness, no need to tire myself swimming, just keep afloat for the flow to wash past my epidermis. All sorts of cheery feelings took turns hugging me. ลอยคอ: literally, ‘float (up to my) throat’.
แต่ในชีวิตมนุษย์เรายังมีอะไรอยู่อีกอย่างหนึ่ง ซึ่งบางคนอาจจะเห็นว่ามันเป็นคำสาป ส่วนผมเห็นว่ามันไม่ได้เลวร้ายขนาดนั้นหรอก ไอ้อะไรอย่างหนึ่งนี่ก็คือการที่มนุษย์ไม่สามารถจมนิ่งๆ อยู่ในความสุขได้นานๆ ไม่ว่าจะเป็นความสุขอันน่าปรารถนาปานใดก็ตาม But in human life there’s something else which some people might view as a curse but I don’t think is that bad. The thing is that man is unable to stay soaked in happiness for long, no matter how desirable that happiness is.  
ฟังดูไม่น่าเชื่อ แต่มันก็เป็นความจริง เหตุผลที่ผมพอจะคิดได้ตอนนี้คือคนเรานั้นอยู่ไม่สุข แปลกลับหน้ากลับหลังก็พอจะได้ความว่าถึงเป็นสุขก็ไม่ยอมอยู่นาน จะเป็นเพราะเบื่อหรือเพราะคนเรามีวิวัฒนาการมาจากลิงผมก็ยังไม่ค่อยแน่ใจ It sounds unbelievable but it’s the truth. The reason I can think of right now is that we are not happy. In reverse translation, it means that even if we’re happy we don’t accept to be so for long, whether because we get bored or because we’re descended from the apes I’m still not very sure.  
รู้แต่ว่าหากความสุขของผมยังนิ่งๆ อยู่อย่างนี้ อีกไม่นานผมก็ต้องมีความทุกข์ในความสุขที่แน่นิ่งนี้แน่นอน I only know that if my happiness stayed stable like this, before long I’d experience sorrow in this easy-going happiness for sure.  
วันนี้ถ้าไม่ใช่เพราะประตูสวรรค์เปิดสำหรับผมก็คงเป็นอำนาจของดาวหางดวงใดดวงหนึ่ง ผมยังไม่ทันได้รับทุกข์จากความสุขนิ่งๆ ความสุขก็เริ่มเคลื่อนไหวเปลี่ยนแปลงตัวเองเพื่อมิให้ผมเบื่อ Today if it isn’t the gate of heaven being opened for me, then it must be the power of a comet. I had yet to be granted sorrow from that slack happi- ness, as it began to move and change so that I wouldn’t get bored.  
“พี่ไม่คิดจะทักทายหนูบ้างเลยหรือคะ” ‘Won’t you say hello to me, darling?’  
ผมงงไปนิดหน่อย ไม่มากจนเสียบุคลิกชายหนุ่มอายุห้าสิบสี่ I was a bit puzzled, but not too much so, as that would be against my personality as a young man of fifty-four.  
มัวเผลอคิด เลยไม่ได้สังเกตว่าหล่อนมาประชิดตัวเมื่อไร แต่ก็ดีเหมือนกัน เพราะมันให้ความรู้สึกคล้ายๆ หล่อนลอยมาหาผม โรแมนติกหวานแหววเจือน้ำแจ่วกระไรปานนั้น I’d been so busy thinking that I didn’t notice she had come close to me, but that was good all the same because it was as if she had floated up to me, such a sweetly romantic feeling. โรแมนติกหวานแหววเจือน้ำแจ่วกระไรปานนั้น: this kind of flowery language, tedious to read and to translate, definitely smacks of rank old age rather than of a youth in his fifties.
“ใจดำจังเลย” ‘What a blackheart you are!’  
ผมไม่ต้องเชิญหล่อนนั่งเพราะหล่อนนั่งแล้ว ฟากตรงข้ามหล่อนก็ไม่เลือก กลับเลือกนั่งข้างผม หล่อนโน้มหน้ามาพูดกับผม ใกล้เสียจนผมได้กลิ่นผม I didn’t have to invite her to sit down because she was already seated, and had chosen to sit not across from me but beside me. She bent her head to talk to me, so close I could smell her hair.  
“สวัสดี ยินดีที่จะได้รู้จัก” ผมทักทายตามที่หล่อนปรารถนาและได้แจ้งความจำนงไว้แต่ต้น ‘Hello, happy to know you,’ I greeted her as she wished, making a declara- tion of intent from the first by the same token.  
“พี่นี่ตลกอยู่เรื่อย” หล่อนหัวเราะผลักต้นแขนผมเบาๆ ในอาการหยอกเอินด้วยความหมั่นไส้แกมเอ็นดู “หนูเป็นเมียพี่อยู่ตั้งปี … ยังไม่รู้จักอีกเหรอ” ‘Oh, you’re always so funny!’ She laughed and patted my forearm lightly, with an air of dallying with me that mixed aversion and fondness. ‘I’m your wife all year round and you still don’t know me?’  
เป็นคนอื่นอาจจะตกใจจนพลัดตกเก้าอี้ไปแล้ว แต่ผมไม่ใช่คนอื่นจึงยังนั่งอยู่ได้อย่างมั่นคง แถมดื่มเบียร์ที่เหลือโดยยังรับรู้รสชาติครบถ้วน เมื่อสั่งขวดใหม่เสียงของผมก็ไม่ได้สั่นสักนิด Someone else might have fallen off his chair in shock but I’m not someone else, so I sat on firmly, even drank the beer that remained and fully enjoyed its taste. When I ordered another bottle my voice didn’t tremble in the least.  
“พี่ยังเป็นคนไม่มีหัวใจเหมือนเดิม” หล่อนตัดพ้อ “ถ้าเป็นคนมีหัวจิตหัวใจเหมือนคนอื่นเขาสักนิด ป่านนี้หนูก็คงยังอยู่กับพี่ ยังเป็นเมียพี่” ‘You’re still as heartless as before, darling,’ she complained. ‘If you had a little bit of heart like everyone else, I’d still be with you, I’d still be your wife.’  
ผมรู้สึกวาบหวามใจเล็กน้อย I felt a stir of sexual attraction.  
คำว่า “เมีย” นี่แปลก ถ้าหมายถึงคนที่อยู่กินกับเราจนเหนียงยานไปด้วยกันทั้งคู่ ฟังแล้วก็ด้านๆ ไม่รู้สึกรู้สาอะไร แต่ถ้าหมายถึงคนอื่น คนที่เรายังไม่มีโอกาสได้แอ้ม พอได้ฟังว่าเขาเคยเป็นเมียเรานี่มันให้หวามๆ เดียมๆ ชอบกล This word ‘wife’ is weird. If it means the person we live with as a couple until our necks grow wattles, it sounds cal- lous, insensitive, but if it means some- one else, someone we haven’t yet had the opportunity to screw, hearing that she used to be our wife, it makes us feel oddly thrilled.  
รู้สึกคล้ายมีพลัง แต่ในขณะเดียวกันก็ระทดระทวย A feeling close to having power but at the same time being in sorrow.  
“ที่จริงหนูก็ยังติดใจพี่นะ คิดอยู่เสมอว่าจะหาผัวชั้นยอดอย่างพี่นี่คงยาก หรืออาจจะหาไม่ได้เลย เพราะเขาสร้างมาคนเดียว…” ‘Actually I’m still yearning for you, always thinking that finding a partner as great as you will be difficult or even impossible because you’re one of a kind…’  
ผมสบตาหล่อน แววตาหล่อนออกอาการมัวเมาในเรื่องที่กำลังพูด มันจะเป็นเรื่องในอดีตหรือเรื่องที่หล่อนสร้างขึ้นมาผมก็ไม่แน่ใจ แต่ก็ยินดีจะฟัง เพราะในเรื่องนี้ผมเป็นพระเอก I held her gaze. Her eyes had an air of deep absorption in what she was saying, whether something in the past or some- thing she was thinking up I wasn’t sure, but I was happy to listen because in that story I was the hero.  
“อยู่กับพี่ … รสชาติชีวิตมันฉูดฉาดจัดจ้านเอร็ดอร่อยไปหมด พี่เป็นมือปรุงชีวิตชั้นเซียน ขนาดในบ้านเหลือเบียร์อยู่แค่สองขวด ตู้เย็นว่างเปล่า ตู้กับข้าวมีแต่ลม พี่ยังทำให้หนูสนุกได้ทั้งคืน … โอ … หนูยังจำไม่ลืม … ทั้งคืนเลย…” ‘Being with you, life’s always spicy and scrumptious. You’re a past master at flavouring life, to the point that with only two bottles of beer left in the house, an empty fridge and no more than air in the larder, you still made me have fun all night long … oh … I haven’t forgotten … all night long…’  
ผมไม่รู้เหมือนกันว่า ผมทำยังไงหล่อนถึงได้ทำท่าซาบซึ้งยิ่งใหญ่ปานนั้น สติปัญญาขนาดผม ถ้าเหลือแต่เบียร์อยู่แค่สองขวด ผมก็คงค่อยๆ ดื่มมันให้หมดแล้วเข้านอน ไม่เห็นจะน่าซาบซึ้งอะไร เว้นเสียแต่ว่าตอนนอนหลับได้ฝันสนุกโอฬารตระการตา I didn’t know what I had done for her to appear so deeply impressed. According to my lights, if there were only two bottles of beer left, I’d get through them and then go to bed, I don’t see what’s so impressive, unless if once asleep I had a smashing good dream.  
แต่เมื่อหล่อนรู้สึกว่ามันยิ่งใหญ่ เป็นอัจฉริยลักษณ์ของผม ผมก็ไม่ว่าอะไร But since she felt that it was great, it was my genius, I didn’t say anything.  
“พี่แก่ไปหน่อยก็จริง..” ‘Sure, you’ve aged a bit…’  
“อันนี้ไม่จริง” ผมขัดกลางคัน ‘That’s not true!’ I interrupted her.  
ผมรู้ว่าการพูดสอดพูดแทรกขณะที่คนอื่นกำลังพูดน่ะเป็นมารยาททราม แต่ในกรณีนี้จะอยู่เฉยก็ไม่ได้ มันกระทบสัตยาบันของผม I know that interrupting when some- one is talking is bad manners but in this case how could I hold still, it hurt my convictions. Or, flippantly, ‘it’s against my religion’. สัตยาบัน = ratification, confirmation. Here, it means ‘the pact I made with myself’.
ผมอธิบายให้หล่อนฟังว่าผมไม่เคยทำตัวแก่แล้วมันจะแก่ได้ยังไง ทุกสิ่งทุกอย่างเกิดมาจากกรรม กรรมแปลว่าการกระทำ เมื่อผมไม่ทำตัวแก่ ผมก็ไม่แก่ I explained to her that I never be- haved old, so how could I be old. Every- thing comes from karma. Karma means doings. When I don’t behave old, I’m not old.  
ในทางตรงกันข้าม สิ่งที่ผมทำคือทำตัวหนุ่ม เพราะฉะนั้นผมก็ต้องหนุ่ม เป็นเหตุเป็นผลดีจะตาย On the contrary, what I do is behave young. So I must be young. It’s a perfectly good reason.  
เราเห็นเขาพูดเขาเขียนกันเสมอว่า ‘ชายหนุ่มอายุยี่สิบห้า’, ‘ชายหนุ่มวัยสามสิบหก’ หรือแม้แต่ ‘ชายหนุ่มวัยสี่สิบหก’ แล้วทำไมจะมีชายหนุ่มอายุห้าสิบสี่บ้างไม่ได้ ไม่เห็นมันเสียหายอะไรตรงไหน ดีเสียอีกน่ะไม่ว่า เพราะชายหนุ่มเป็นกำลังของชาติ ยิ่งมีมากเท่าไหร่ชาติก็จะยิ่งเดินได้ไวเท่านั้น We hear or read all the time of ‘a young man of twenty-five’, ‘a young man of thirty-six’ or even ‘a young man of forty-six’, then why can’t there be a young man of fifty-four? I can see nothing wrong with that. Actually I think it’s good. The more young men there are of the kind, the better the nation.  
ดูเหมือนหล่อนจะยอมรับคำชี้แจงของผมอยู่บ้าง She seemed to bow to my argu- ments.  
“เอาละ ความจริงพี่ยังหนุ่ม” ‘All right. Truth is you’re still young…’  
“ถูกต้อง” ‘You got that right.’  
“แม้จะเกิดมานานกว่าผู้ชายอื่นที่หนูเคยเป็นเมีย” ‘Even though you were born earlier than the other men I’ve been a wife to.’  
“แต่ก็วิเศษกว่า โอชากว่า” ‘Only more superb, more scrump- tious.’  
“นั่นละที่หนูกำลังจะบอกพี่” ‘That’s what I’m trying to tell you.’  
บริกรคงเห็นว่าหล่อนมานั่งโต๊ะผมนานแล้ว ดีไม่ดีเผลอไผลหล่อนออกไปโดยไม่จ่ายเงิน ทางร้านก็จะไม่ได้กำไรเท่าที่ควร จึงเข้ามาถามความประสงค์ว่าจะย้ายโต๊ะมารวมกันหรือไม่ The waitress must have thought the woman had sat at my table long enough. If she didn’t pay attention, the woman would leave without paying, the shop wouldn’t make as much as it should, so she came over to ask whether she intended to join me at my table or not.  
“พี่เลี้ยงเมียเก่าอีกสักมื้อได้ไหม” หล่อนถามผมด้วยสุ้มเสียงที่ทำให้ผมเคลิ้มๆ ไปว่าหล่อนเป็นเมียเก่าของผมจริงๆ ‘Treat your old wife once again, won’t you, darling,’ she asked me with a tone of voice that had me rapturously think she really must have been my wife.  
แม้แต่เด็กบริกรก็ยังทำท่าคล้ายได้มาเจอเรื่องจริงที่ดูประหลาดกว่านิยาย เธอยิ้มปูเลี่ยนๆ และไม่กล้าสบตาผม Even the young waitress looked as though she had stumbled onto some- thing weirder than a fairy tale. She smiled sheepishly and didn’t dare to look me in the eye.

=

=

ยิ้มปูเลี่ยนๆ: literally, ‘smile (like a) greasy crab’. Greasy crab trumps sheep!

ผมพยักหน้าตกลงเลี้ยงเมียเก่าอีกสักมื้อ คิดเสียว่าตอนอยู่กินด้วยกันหล่อนก็คงเลี้ยงดูผมไว้มาก ต้องตอบแทนกันบ้างในเวลาที่สามารถจะตอบแทนได้ With a nod I agreed to treat my old wife one more time, thinking that when we were together she must have treat- ed me a lot and one must reciprocate while one still can.  
บรรยากาศถ่านไฟเก่าเป็นไปอย่างชื่นมื่นและออกจะเปลือยๆ ระดับอาร์ เราสั่งเบียร์กันถี่ขึ้น โดยเฉพาะตอนที่ความหลังกำลังดำเนินไปถึงตอนวาบหวิวซึ่งเด็กอายุต่ำกว่าสิบแปดถูกกีดกันไม่ให้ชม The atmosphere of old love was elating in its R-rated nakedness. We kept ordering more beer, especially when the past reached the dizzy parts for adults over eighteen only.  
ผมเพิ่งรู้ว่าครั้งหนึ่งเรี่ยวแรงผมเหมือนช้างสารและมีรสนิยมวิตถารอยู่พอสมควร แต่หล่อนก็ชอบและไม่เคยลืมมันเลย Thus I learned that once I had the strength of a mighty elephant and rather perverted tastes, but she liked it and had never forgotten.  
หล่อนเปรยเป็นนัยๆ ว่าอยากจะให้มีวันคืนอย่างนั้นอีกสักครั้งสองครั้งเพื่อเพิ่มคุณภาพชีวิตของหล่อน She hinted she’d like to have such times once or twice again to boost the quality of her life.  
“ตั้งแต่จากพี่มาชีวิตหนูกร่อยมาก ผู้ชายทั่วๆ ไปน่ะเป็นนักปรุงชีวิตที่ยอดจะแย่ ตะกรุมตะกรามก็เท่านั้น ไม่มีรสนิยมก็เท่านั้น พอเสร็จก็แจวอ้าวเข้าไปอยู่ในรูตัวเองเงียบกริบเชียว พี่ว่ามีอะไรจะทรมานลูกผู้หญิงได้มากกว่านี้อีกไหม” ‘Since you left, my life’s been very dull. Men in general are rather bad at spicing up life. They’re only voracious, they don’t have good taste. When it’s done, they take to their heels and go and stay in their holes, dead as dormice. Do you think anything could be more tormenting than this for women?’  
“มี” ผมตอบเสียบ้างหลังจากไม่ได้พูดอะไร-เอาแต่ฟังหล่อนมานาน “ลูกผู้หญิงที่หาใครมาตะกรุมตะกรามไม่ได้เลยไง” ‘Oh yes,’ I answered after keeping quiet, merely listening to her for a long while. ‘Being unable to find voracious men, of course.’  
“เอางั้นก็ได้” หล่อนคล้ายจะคล้อยตามผม แต่ที่แท้ก็เป็นเหลี่ยมของลูกผู้หญิง “มันเป็นความทรทานคนละอย่างกัน” ‘That too.’ She seemed to agree wholeheartedly with me but actually it was a woman’s trick. ‘It’s another kind of torment.’  
ลูกผู้หญิงอกอูมเขาเป็นกันอย่างนี้แหละครับ เจอมาซะเยอะ เขามักจะทำท่าเห็นดีเห็นงามกับเรา แต่ท้ายที่สุดแล้วเขาก็เอาตามความคิดของเขาเอง ยอมตามความคิดของเราซะเมื่อไหร่ Women with big tits always act like this. I’ve met lots. They behave as if they approve of us but in the end they follow their own ideas and to hell with ours.  
ผมได้รู้อีกว่าตัวเองมี ‘ก้าน’ เกินมาตรฐานลูกผู้ชายไทย ได้ฟังแล้วนึกลำพองใจอยู่ไม่น้อย I further learned that I had a bigger ‘rod’ than is standard for Thai men. Hearing this puts one in rather high spirits.  
หล่อนเองก็ชักจะแสดงอาการเคลิบเคลิ้มใหลหลงมากขึ้นทุกทีๆ จนผมเริ่มจะแน่ใจว่าผมได้เมียเก่าคืนแน่ She herself was beginning to show increasing enrapture, so that I was beginning to be certain that my old wife was back.  
“พี่ก็รู้ว่าหนูชอบลูบคลำมัน…” ‘You know how much I like to stroke it…’  
ความจริงผมไม่รู้ แต่มือของหล่อนที่กรีดกรายทำท่าประกอบก็ทำให้ผมหวิวหวามในหัวใจเหมือนโดนลูบคลำมาแล้วหมาดๆ Actually I didn’t, but the brushing of her hand ready to go through the motions made me feel faint as if I had just been groped and stroked.  
“ไม่มีของใครเลยที่แข็งแรงเต็มไม้เต็มมือเท่าของพี่ วิเศษมาก” ‘Nobody feels such a hard handful as you do. Amazing.’  
ผมก็ว่ามันวิเศษจริงๆ เหมือนกันถ้านัยน์ตาของหล่อนไม่เคลิ้มฝันจนเกินไป มันทำให้ผมฉุกใจสงสัยว่าหล่อนเอา ‘ของใคร’ มาใส่ให้ผมหรือเปล่า I too thought it was amazing had her eyes not been so overly dreamy. They made me suddenly wonder whether or not she wasn’t transferring to me someone else’s attributes.  
แต่ความมึนด้วยปริมาณอันมากของเบียร์ก็ช่วยประคองความสุขไว้มิให้แตกร้าว ครู่เดียวผมก็ลืมความสงสัย กลับมาล่องลอยไปกับความหลังของตัวเองได้ใหม่ But the buzz from a large volume of beer helped prevent happiness from being shattered. For a moment I forgot the suspicion and went back to floating in my own past anew.  
ผมว่ามันทำนองเดียวกับคนที่กำลังป่วยย่ำแย่ จะตายมิตายแหล่ มีใครมาบอกว่าแจ่มใสจังก็รีบยึดเอาไว้ ทั้งๆ ที่ความแจ่มใสนั้นไม่ใช่ของตัว มันอาจจะเป็นของคนที่รอรับมรดกอยู่ก็ได้ แต่รับมาเป็นของตัวแล้วชื่นใจ มีความสุขก่อนตาย ก็รับเถอะ ไม่เห็นจะเสียหายอะไรนี่ I think it’s the same as when you’re on the verge of death and someone comes along and tells you how bright you look, so you hold this at once to be true. Even though the brightness isn’t yours but may be of those waiting for your inheritance, you make it yours and it cheers you, you’re happy before dying. So go ahead, it does no harm in any way.  
หล่อนสาธยายลีลาท่าร่างยามเสพสมของผมสลับกับการดื่มเบียร์ มีคำร้องขอให้กลับไปเป็นอย่างเดิมแฝงอยู่ตรงนั้นนิดตรงนี้หน่อยไม่ประเจิดประเจ้อ สร้างความเพลิดเพลินให้ผมเป็นอันมาก She discoursed on my physical performance during the act in between gulps of beer. There were appeals to making things as before hidden here and there. They were not disgraceful and they did much for my entertain- ment.  
แต่ผมก็มีข้อเสียอยู่เหมือนกันตามความรู้สึกของหล่อน หล่อนเริ่มเปิดข้อบกพร่องของผมด้วยประโยคที่ว่า “แต่ผู้ชายดีพร้อมไม่มีในโลกนี้” แล้วแกล้มด้วยเบียร์ครึ่งแก้ว But I had a flaw all the same, she felt. She began to reveal my shortcoming with the sentence, ‘But there are no men ready for it in this world,’ followed by the downing of half a glass of beer.  
ผมกำลังดีวิเศษจนแทบจะไม่ใช่คนอยู่แล้ว จึงอยากฟังความไม่เอาไหนของตัวเองอย่างยิ่ง มันจะได้ดึงผมกลับมาเป็นคนกับเขาเสียที I was such a superb man as didn’t exist, so I was most eager to hear about my uselessness, as it would take me down to size.  
“พี่เป็นผัวที่ดี แต่เป็นสามีที่เลว” ‘You’re a good mate but a bad hus- band.’  
ภาษาสวย คล้องจองกันดี แต่ความหมายนั้นต้องให้หล่อนอธิบายขยายความ Nice words, nicely balanced, but what they meant was for her to explain.  
“หนูนอนกับใครก็ถือว่าเขาเป็นผัวหนู ก็มันเป็นจริงๆ นี่ แต่สามีหนูรู้มาว่ามันแปลว่านายหรือเจ้าของ ทีนี้คนที่เขาเป็นนายคนเป็นเจ้าของคนเนี่ย เขาก็ต้องดูแลเลี้ยงดูคนของเขาใช่ไหมพี่ ไม่ใช่ทิ้งๆ ขว้างๆ ปล่อยให้หากินเองตามยถากรรมอย่างที่พี่ทำกับหนู” ‘When I sleep with someone I consider him my mate, which is what he really is, but husband, I’ve learned, means master or owner. So the one who’s the master, the owner, he must take care of the one he owns, isn’t that right, darling? Not deserting her and leaving her to fend for herself as you did with me.’ Mate-husband: the Thai is funnier than this, as the familiar ผัว (phua) and the formal สามี (samee) are both readily understood as ‘husband’.
“เมียฉันเขาก็หากินเอง มีเงินให้ฉันกู้ด้วยซ้ำ” ‘My wife earns her own living. She’s even got money for me to borrow.’  
“พี่หมายถึงเมียคนใหม่ของพี่เหรอ พี่นี่แจ๋วจริงๆ” ‘You mean your current wife, don’t you? You’re really clever, you know.’  
หล่อนทำท่าชื่นชมและดีอกดีใจกับผม แต่ก็ไม่ลืมแซมอาการหึงนิดๆ เอาไว้ด้วย ร้ายกาจจริงๆ She looked full of admiration and gladness for me but didn’t forget to hint at jealousy. She was really good.  
“ถ้าพี่มีหัวจิตหัวใจดูแลหนูมั่ง หนูไม่ยอมปล่อยให้พี่ไปหาเมียใหม่หรอก ไม่มีวัน หนูจะครอบครองพี่ไว้คนเดียว มีความสุขกันตลอดชาติ” ‘If you had the heart to look after me, I wouldn’t let you go and find another wife. No way. I’d own you alone, we’d be happy together forever.’  
ผมว่ามันสิ้นสุดแล้ว ลงว่ามีความสุขกันตลอดชาติ ถ้าเป็นหนังเป็นละครมันก็จบแล้ว ความสุขพอประมาณของผมถึงคราว จะต้องเปลี่ยนสีสันซะที ไม่งั้นผมก็จะต้องมีความทุกข์ในความสุขนิ่งๆ อีก I thought it was the end. The words ‘happy together forever’, if in a movie or a play, meant The End. My reasonable happiness thus had to change colour, otherwise there’d be suffering in that stable happiness again.  
“วันนี้เห็นจะคุยกับเมียเก่าเท่านี้ก่อนนะ วันหลังเจอกันอีกค่อยทบทวนอดีตกันใหม่” ‘I think I’ve spoken with my former wife long enough today. Let’s meet again some other day and remember the past some more.’  
“ไม่มีวันหน้าวันหลังหรอกพี่ เราต้องไปย้อนอดีตกันวันนี้แหละ หนูอยากจนตัวสั่นแล้ว” ‘There’s nothing better than the present, darling. We have to go back to the past today. I want it so much I’m shaking all over.’  
หล่อนแสดงอาการอยากได้แจ่มชัดเหมือนกลไกที่มีปุ่มกด She showed clearly that it was what she wanted, as if at the push of a button.  
“ฉันก็สั่น” ผมบอกหล่อน ‘I’m shaking too,’ I told her.  
“สั่นสู้ใช่ไหมพี่” หล่อน กระหายอย่างลิงโลด ‘Let’s shake together, then, shall we?’ She was eager, overjoyed.  
“เปล่า สั่นเพราะความสุขน่ะ” ‘No. It’s out of happiness I shake, you see.’  
“หนูอยากมีความสุขกับพี่อีกสักครั้ง อยากจังเลย…นะพี่นะ …เถอะ…” หล่อนพยักหน้าเชิญชวน ‘I’d like to be happy with you once again. I want it so much … okay, dar- ling? … Please…’ she nodded invitingly.  
“ฉันมีความสุขกับการปลดปล่อยไปแล้ว” ผมลวงหล่อนครึ่งหนึ่ง “สบายเนื้อสบายตัวบอกไม่ถูก” ‘I’m happy with what we’ve express- ed today.’ I deceived her by half. ‘I feel incredibly fine.’  
พูดจบผมก็เรียกบริกรคิดเงิน แต่หล่อนยังไม่ยอมจบกับผม หล่อนดึงมือผมไปแปะที่หน้าอกหน้าใจของหล่อน แล้วพูดจาด้วยเสียงของคนที่ตกจมอยู่ในห้วงพิศวาส At this point, I asked for the bill, but she still didn’t want to give me up. She pulled my hand and put it on her chest and then spoke in the voice of someone drowning in an expanse of love.  
“พี่รู้สึกถึงการเต้นแห่งหัวใจหนูไหม มันบอกว่าไง มันบอกว่าหนูต้องการพี่ใช่ไหม ทำไมพี่ถึงหนีไปมีความสุขคนเดียว…” ‘Can you feel how fast my heart is beating, darling? What is it saying? It’s saying I want you, right? Why are you fleeing to be happy on your own?’  
บริกรเอาบิลมาเก็บเงินแล้ว แต่หล่อนยังไม่ยอมปล่อยมือผม สีหน้าเด็กสาวบริกรออกอาการอยากดูแต่ก็ไม่กล้ามองเต็มตา The waitress had brought the bill but she still didn’t want to release my hand. The waitress looked as if she’d like to look but didn’t dare to stare.  
ผมต้องออกแรงนิดหน่อยเพื่อดึงมือกลับมาหยิบเงินจ่ายค่ากินดื่ม รวมค่าคุยกับเมียเก่าไปพันเศษๆ I had to use a little strength to retrieve my hand to handle the money for the food and drinks. The cost of talking with my old wife came to a little over one thousand baht.  
“ใจคอพี่จะปล่อยให้หนูค้างเติ่งอยู่ยังเงี้ยหรอ” ‘Will you have the heart to leave me in the lurch like this?’  
หล่อนทำท่าจะคว้ามือผมไปแปะอกหรือไม่ก็อะไรที่หวาดเสียวกว่าอกอีกครั้ง ผมชักมือหนีและลุกขึ้นยืนอย่างมีความสุขพอประมาณ อย่างคนที่มั่นใจว่าความสุขจะยังไม่หนีหายไปไหน เพียงแต่ถึงเวลาจะต้องเปลี่ยนแปลงสีสันของมันบ้างเท่านั้น She made as if to grab my hand to pat her breast or some place more soul- stirring once again. I withdrew my hand in a hurry and stood up with reasonable happiness, like someone certain that happiness hadn’t gone away but the time had come to change its colour a little.  
“ขอโทษนะหนู ฉันไปให้ความสุขกับหนูไม่ได้ ไอ้ฉันมันเครื่องจักรสมัยเก่า เดินตามรอบตามแรงของมัน ตั้งโปรแกรมไม่ได้เหมือนสมัยของหนู” ‘Forgive me. I can’t make you happy. Mine is an outdated machine that works at its own speed and can’t be repro- grammed as people your age do.’  
แล้วผมก็ผละจากหล่อนมา ปล่อยให้หล่อนนั่งค้างเติ่งอยู่อย่างนั้น Then I took my leave, leaving her in the lurch like that.  
=

‘Khwamjing-luang’
in Chor Karrakeit 33, 1997

 
  Phairoj Boonprakob,
born in 1952 in Bangkok, and until recently a teacher of Thai at Chiang Rai
Rajabhat University, has more than
half a dozen collections of short stories and two novels to his credit.
=CK33

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Deception – Phairoj Boonprakob

  1. NJ (@songprapha28) 17 March 2014 at 8:29 pm Reply

    Thank you very much. Good practice for reading and learning English. Follow you🙂

Leave a Reply

