Alone in the world – Prartana Rattana

There is a load of emotions in this story, as a young woman who loves to hate her mother feels with selfish blindness. MB

คนเดียวในโลก

Alone in the world

chopper2 chopper1

ปรารถนา รัตนะ

PRARTANA RATTANA

TRANSLATOR’S KITCHEN
แม่โกรธฉันอีกแล้ว ฉันก็โกรธแม่เหมือนกัน เราจะไม่พูดกันใช่ไหมแม่ ฉันอึดอัดนะแม่รู้ไหม ฉันลุกขึ้นหยิบกางเกงยีนส์ที่กองอยู่กับพื้นขึ้นมาสวมใส่ สกปรกสิ้นดี แต่ช่างมันเถอะ ก็คนซักผ้าของฉันเขาหนีฉันไปแล้วนี่ หยิบเสื้อยืดสีดำที่แม่เกลียดนักเกลียดหนาขึ้นมาใส่ ฉันไว้ทุกข์ให้กับแม่และตัวเอง ไว้ทุกข์ให้กับความทุกข์ทั้งมวลที่เราเกิดมาเป็นแม่ลูกกัน Mum is angry with me again and I’m angry with her as well. We won’t speak to each other, right, mum? I’m ill at ease, you know, mum. I get up and pick up the jeans in a pile on the floor and put them on. So damn dirty but never mind. The man washing clothes for me has fled, so… I pick up the black t-shirt you hate and put it on. I’m in mourning for you, mum, and for myself, in mourning for the sorrows of all kinds at having been born mother and child.
บิดลูกบิดประตู เปิดกรงขังให้อิสระกับตัวเอง มองหาแม่ โน่น นั่งซึมอยู่ที่โต๊ะหินอ่อนใต้ต้นหูกวางแววตาสิ้นหวังท้อแท้ คงจะผิดหวังในตัวฉันอีกตามเคย แต่แม่ก็ผิดหวังมาตลอดอยู่แล้วนี่ แล้วทำไมแม่ไม่รู้จักเคยชินกับมันเสียที ฉันเดินตรงไปที่ชั้นวางรองเท้า หยิบคู่โปรดที่ใส่มากว่าห้าปี เลือกให้มันไปกับฉันวันนี้ อดหันไปมองหน้าแม่ไม่ได้ โอ๊ย! มองหน้าแม่ทีไรรู้สึกหดหู่สิ้นดี ก็ไหนว่าชอบทำบุญ ธรรมะธัมโมนักหนาแล้วทีเวลาแบบนี้ทำไมไม่รู้จักใช้ธรรมะให้ถูกทาง ฉันกลืนน้ำลายด้วยความอึดอัด แม่นั่งเงียบตัวแข็งเหมือนหิน ไม่มองด้วยซ้ำไปว่าฉันกำลังจะออกไปข้างนอกอีกแล้ว โธ่ … แม่ มีกันอยู่สองคนแม่ลูกแท้ๆ แล้วทำไมแม่ต้องตั้งแง่แสนงอน ทำไมต้องมากดดันกันนะ I turn the doorknob, open the cage to give myself freedom, look for mum. There, sitting drowsily at the marble table under the Indian almond tree, looking hopeless, discouraged, no doubt disappointed in me as usual, but you’re always disappointed, and why can’t you get used to it for a change? I walk straight to the shoe rack, pick up my favourite pair I’ve been wearing for the past five years, choosing to have them come along with me today. I can’t help turning round to look at mum. Oh, every time I look at her I feel so damn depressed. Doesn’t she say she likes to make merit? She’s fiendishly dharma-minded, and then in a moment like this why doesn’t she know how to use dharma correctly? I swallow my saliva in unease. Mum sits silent, hard as stone, not even looking at me as I’m about to go out again. Gee, mum, there’s just the two of us mother and child truly, then why do you have to sulk like this? Why so much pressure? ==

=

=

=

=

=

=

=

ธรรมะธัมโม = churchy; what the French call ‘une grenouille de bénitier’. Here, the word ‘dharma’ had to be used to make sense of the rest of the sentence.

“แม่อายชาวบ้านเค้า” ‘I’m ashamed of what people might say.’
“โธ่เอ๊ย … แม่!” ฉันตะโกนสุดเสียง ปัดชามข้าวที่แม่บรรจงวางบนโต๊ะเมื่อครู่ลงไปกองแตกละเอียดอยู่ที่พื้นทั้งข้าวทั้งแกงและเศษถ้วยจานเละเทะรวมกัน แม่ทรุดตัวนั่งลงร้องไห้ เสียงสะอึกสะอื้นอย่างเจ็บปวดของแม่สามารถฆ่าฉันได้ ฉันเดินเข้าห้องปิดประตู เลือกเทปม้วนที่เกรี้ยวกราดที่สุดใส่เข้าไปในเครื่องเล่น เสียงดนตรีแผดคำรามกึกก้องเหมือนห้องทั้งห้องเป็นนรกจำลอง ฉันไม่ได้ยินเสียงสะอึกสะอื้นคร่ำครวญของแม่อีกเลย ‘Good grief, mum!’ I shout at the top of my voice, with a flick send the plate of food mum painstakingly placed on the table a moment ago crashing to the floor, in a mess of rice, curry and broken china. Mum collapses in tears. Mum’s painful sobs can still kill me. I walk into the room and close the door, choose the most enraged tape and slip it into the player. The blast of music turns the room into an ersatz hell. I don’t hear mum’s plaintive sobs any longer. ==

=

=

=

เกรี้ยวกราด: angrily (to scold), furiously.

=
รู้สึกตัวตื่นขึ้น แต่พอลืมตาก็ต้องตกใจเมื่อพบกับใบหน้าคมๆ ของผู้ชายคนหนึ่งกำลังขยับร่างของเขาอยู่บนร่างของฉัน ฉันหลับตาตั้งสติอีกครั้ง นึกทบทวนเหตุการณ์เมื่อคืน ใครกันหนอมานอนกับฉัน ค่อยๆ ลืมตาขึ้นพิจารณาที่ใบหน้าคมเข้มนั้น ยกมือขึ้นลากนิ้วไปบนขนคิ้วดกดำ ผมของเขายาวสลวยห้อยลงมาระใบหน้าของฉัน ฉันลูบเสยผมของเขารวบไปไว้ด้านหลัง ยิ้มให้เขาก่อนจะใช้ลิ้นสัมผัสริมฝีปากของเขา “ปวดหัวจังเลย” ฉันบอกเขาเพื่อยุติบทพิศวาสที่กำลังดำเนินอยู่ เขาเป็นใคร มาจากไหน ชื่ออะไร โอย! งงสิ้นดี ฉันลุกขึ้นเสยผมเผ้ายุ่งเหยิง มองไปยังกระจกบานใหญ่ในห้อง มองร่างเปลือยเปล่าของตัวเอง เห็นใบหน้าที่รู้สึกว่าโทรมเหลือกำลัง “ไปอาบน้ำกันดีกว่า หิวข้าวแล้วด้วย” ฉันบอกเขาในขณะที่เขากำลังเงี่ยหูฟังเสียงกุกกักนอกห้อง “อ้าว ไหนว่าอยู่คนเดียว” “ก็ฉันอยู่คนเดียวจริงๆ” ฉันไม่ชอบตอบคำถามแบบนี้เลย “แล้วใครอยู่ข้างนอก” “ก็แม่ฉัน” “เมื่อคืนบอกว่าอยู่คนเดียว” I come to but upon opening my eyes am shocked to see the sharp face of a man whose body is moving over mine. I close my eyes to compose myself once again, to recall last night’s events. Who the heck is sleeping with me? I slowly open my eyes, consider those sharp features, raise my hand to follow with a finger the bushy black eyebrows. His long flowing hair keeps brushing against my face. I stroke his hair through my fingers and push it back, smile at him before using my tongue to touch his lips. ‘I have a splitting headache,’ I tell him to put an end to the hanky-panky underway.  Who is he? Where does he come from? What’s his name? Gosh! Total blank. I get up, rake my dishevelled hair with my fingers, look at the large mirror in the room, look at my naked body, see a face which I find terribly rundown. ‘We’d better shower now. I’m terribly hungry as well,’ I tell him as he strains to hear the halting voice outside the room. ‘Well now! Didn’t you say you were alone?’ ‘But I do live alone!’ I don’t like answering this sort of question. ‘Then who is that outside?’ ‘My mum.’ ‘Last night you told me you were alone.’
ให้ตายเถอะ ฉันพาต้นเสาหรือก้อนหินเข้าบ้านมาด้วยนะ ฉันบอกเขาว่าฉันอยู่คนเดียว แต่เขาก็พยายามจะบอกว่าฉันอยู่กับแม่ มีแม่อยู่กับฉันในบ้าน ก็ใช่ … แต่ฉันอยู่คนเดียวนี่ … ฉันอยู่ตัวคนเดียวในโลก! Damn! I’ve taken a pillar or a stone into the house. I told him I lived alone, but he’s trying to tell me I live with my mother. My mother is with me in the house. Well, yes … but I do live alone … I live all by myself in the world!
ชายคนนั้นเดินตามฉันเข้าห้องน้ำ เขาตัวสูง หน้าตาดี คมเข้มจนดูดุน่ากลัว ผมยาวถึงเอว ฉันมองหน้าเขาผ่านสายน้ำจากฝักบัว มีเคราเขียวๆ มีหนวดบางๆ ริมฝีปากได้รูปแดงน่าจูบ เรายืนมองหน้ากันอยู่อย่างนั้น เขาก็คงเหมือนฉันที่เมื่อคืนมืดมากเลยมองหน้ากันไม่ชัด ฉันยังนึกขำตัวเองที่เพิ่งจะมารู้เมื่อกี้ว่า เขาผมยาว แถมดำเป็นมันสวยเชียว ฉันเขย่งเท้าน้อยๆ ขึ้นสัมผัสริมฝีปากแดงๆ น่ารักนั่นด้วยริมฝีปากของฉัน “เราจะได้อาบน้ำกันไหมเนี่ย” เขายิ้ม แล้วหยิบสบู่ขึ้นมาฟอกไปตามตัว ฉันเบียดร่างเข้าไปชิดเขา เขาโอบฉันไว้แล้วฟอกถูสบู่ลูบไล้ไปบนเนื้อตัวของฉันอย่างนุ่มนวล The man follows me into the bathroom. He’s tall, good-looking, with features so sharp he looks fierce even scary, hair down to his waist. I look at his face through the water jet from the shower head. He has a dense beard and a thin moustache, well-drawn, red, kiss-me lips. We stand staring at each other like that. He’s probably like me, as last night it was very dark so we couldn’t see each other clearly. I’m even amused at myself for finding out just now that his hair is long, and shiny black and damn cute too. I tiptoe to reach his lovely red lips with my lips. ‘Are we going to shower or not?’ He smiles and then grabs the soap and soaps himself. I push my body against his. He enfolds me in his arms and then runs the soap all over my flesh gently.
“นิ่ม! นิ่ม!” เสียงแม่ตะโกนเรียกฉันพร้อมกับทุบประตูปังๆ ฉันเลิกคิ้วแล้วหันไปบอกกับเขาว่า “แม่เรียก” แล้วตะโกนตอบแม่ว่ากำลังอาบน้ำ “แม่เรียกคุณว่าอะไรนะ นิ่มเหรอ” เขาหัวเราะลั่นอย่างขบขันเสียเหลือเกิน ฉันทุบแรงๆ บนหน้าอกของเขาแล้วถามเขาว่าทำไม มันตลกนักหรือ เขาบอกว่ามันขัดกับบุคลิกของฉันอย่างแรง ฉันเองเคยคิดเหมือนกันว่า แม่เรียกฉันว่านิ่มมาตลอด แม่คงจะแฝงความรู้สึกอะไรบางอย่างไว้ “แล้วคุณล่ะชื่ออะไร” “โหย! ผมบอกคุณไม่รู้กี่รอบแล้ว เขียนไว้ในสมุดขอบคุณด้วยไง” “เหรอ ก็จำไม่ได้นี่นา ชื่ออะไรล่ะบอกหน่อยซิ” ฉันพูดขณะดึงผ้ามาเช็ดตัว เปิดประตูออกไปสวมใส่เสื้อผ้า “เดี๋ยวผมเปิดสมุดของคุณที่ผมเขียนไว้เมื่อคืนให้ดู” เขาเปิดกระเป๋าของฉันอย่างถือวิสาสะ หยิบสมุดไดอารี่ออกมาเปิดอย่างกับเป็นสมุดของตัวเอง เขาเปิดหน้าที่มีลายมือของเขา เบอร์โทรศัพท์ ที่อยู่ ที่ทำงาน โห! มาเขียนไว้เมื่อไหร่กันเนี่ย อ้อม โอ๊ยชื่ออ้อมจะบ้าตาย ฉันหัวเราะล้มกลิ้งลงบนเตียง เขาทำหน้าตากรุ้มกริ่มน่ารักเป็นบ้า มองดูเขาหยิบกางเกงในขึ้นมาสวม ผู้ชายนี่เวลานุ่งกางเกงในมีเสน่ห์จริงๆ ฉันดึงตัวเขาเข้ามาใกล้ซุกหน้าไปบนแผงขนดกเหนือสะดือ ก่อนจะกัดอย่างมันเขี้ยวเข้าทีหนึ่ง “เดี๋ยวออกไปกินข้าวกัน แม่ทำกับข้าวเสร็จแล้วละ” “แล้วแม่เขาจะไม่ว่าผมหรือ” “ว่าเรื่องอะไร” ฉันเลิกคิ้วด้วยความรำคาญ “เร็วๆ เหอะน่าหิว” ‘Nim! Nim!’ Mum shouts out my name as she pummels the door with her fists. I raise my eyebrows and then turn to tell him, ‘It’s my mum calling,’ and then shout in answer to my mother that I’m taking a shower. ‘What is it your mother calls you? Nim?’ He bursts out laughing, highly amused. I punch his chest hard and ask him what’s so funny. He tells me ‘soft’ is radically at odds with my personality. I myself have often thought that mum calls me ‘soft’ all the time to conceal feelings of some kind. ‘What’s your name, then?’ ‘What! I don’t know how many times I’ve told you already. I even wrote it down in your thank-you book.’ ‘Really? Well, I don’t remember. So, what’s your name? Tell me,’ I say as I take the towel to dry myself, open the door to go and get dressed. ‘I’ll open your book where I wrote it down last night and show you.’ He takes the liberty to open my bag, picks up my diary and opens it as if it were his. He finds the page with his handwriting, phone number, address, workplace. Oh! When the heck did he write all this? Orm. His name’s Orm, ‘get around’, how absurd! I burst out laughing and fall back on the bed. He makes absolutely lovely bedroom eyes. I watch him pick up his briefs and put them on. Men, when they put on their briefs I fall for them. I draw him close, sink my face into the hairy stretch above his navel before biting it playfully. ‘Let’s go out and eat. Mum’s cooked for us.’ ‘Won’t she shout at me?’ ‘Why should she?’ I raise my eyebrows in irritation. ‘Hurry up. I’m hungry.’
“แม่ มีอะไรกินมั่ง” ‘Mum, what is there to eat?’
“ของชอบของนิ่มทั้งนั้นเลย เมื่อคืนกลับมากี่โมงล่ะลูก” ‘All dishes you like. What time did you come back last night, darling?’
แม่บรรจงจัดโต๊ะอาหารและพูดเจื้อยแจ้ว ยังไม่ได้หันมามองว่าฉันเดินออกมาจากห้องพร้อมกับใคร ฉันถอนใจที่จะต้องทะเลาะกับแม่อีกแล้ว ตอนนี้แม่กำลังอารมณ์ดีอยู่เชียว แต่ให้ตายเถอะ เมื่อไหร่ฉันจะได้อยู่คนเดียวในโลกจริงๆ โดยไม่ต้องมีใครมาคอยพร่ำเพ้อว่าห่วงใย ว่ารักนักรักหนาว่าจะมาฝากผีฝากไข้กับคนอย่างฉัน Mum is carefully setting the table and prattling sweetly. She hasn’t turned around yet and seen who I’m walking out of the room with. I’m discouraged at having to quarrel with her once again. Right now, she’s in a bloody good mood, but damn it, when will I really be alone in the world without having someone always around to claim she worries about me, to love me and be dependent on a person like me?
แม่หันมา ฉันจับจ้องใบหน้าของแม่ สีหน้าที่ยิ้มสดชื่นอยู่เมื่อครู่ค่อยๆ สลดและซีดเผือดลงเมื่อมองเห็นคนที่ยืนอยู่ข้างๆ ฉัน “สวัสดีครับแม่” เขายกมือไหว้ “เพื่อนหนูเองแม่ เมื่อคืนเขามาส่ง” ทำหน้าให้มันดีๆ หน่อยสิแม่ ฉันอยากจะบอกแม่อย่างนั้น แต่ช้าไปแล้วเมื่อแม่เอ่ยขึ้นมา “กินกันตามสบายเลยนะ เดี๋ยวแม่จะออกไปข้างนอก” “แม่ไม่กินข้าวด้วยกันก่อนเหรอ” แม่ส่ายหัวเหมือนคนไร้สติ เดินตัวแข็งเกร็งออกจากประตูบ้านไป โธ่ … แม่ ฉันจะกินข้าวอร่อยได้ยังไง ถ้าแม่มีกิริยาอาการแบบนี้ Mum turns round. I watch her face. The fresh smiling expression slowly turns sad and pale when she sees the person that stands next to me. ‘Good morning, mother.’ He raises his hands and bows to her. ‘This is my friend, mum. He drove me home last night.’ Come on, mum, be nice to him: that’s what I’d like to tell her, but it’s too late when she says, ‘Enjoy the food. I’m going out.’ ‘Won’t you eat with us first?’ Mum shakes her head as if she has lost it, walks stiffly out of the main door and is gone. Good grief, mum! How can I enjoy the food if you behave like this?
=
ฉันเดินไปส่งเขาที่ชอปเปอร์บริเวณหน้าบ้าน เฮ้อ เมื่อคืนฉันซ้อนชอปเปอร์มาเหรอนี่ ไม่เห็นรู้เรื่องเลย ดีนะที่ไม่ตกลงมาตาย เขาหันมาเอามือบีบหัวไหล่ของฉัน ฉันสบตากับเขาตรงๆ นัยน์ตานั้นช่างแสนซื่อและจริงใจ “เดี๋ยวผมโทร.มาหานะ” I walk him back to the chopper parked in front of the house. Wow! So I rode that monster last night, did I? I had no idea. Lucky I didn’t fall and die. He turns round and with his hand presses my shoulder. I look straight into his eyes. His eyes are so honest and candid. ‘I’ll call you,’ he says. ‘Monster’ to avoid the repetition of ‘chopper’ while staying in the spirit of the context.
ฉันไม่สนใจหรอกว่าเขาจะโทร.มา จะมาหา ไม่มาหา หรือจะไปขึ้นสวรรค์ลงนรกที่ไหน เดินกลับเข้าบ้านมาทรุดนั่งที่โซฟา เตรียมทำสงครามอารมณ์กับผู้ให้กำเนิด ทำไมนิ่มไม่เหมือนแม่ แม่เคยถามอย่างนั้น แม่เป็นบ้าไปแล้วหรือไง ฉันจะไปเหมือนแม่ได้ยังไง แม่เป็นหม้ายมายี่สิบปีอยู่กับฉันมาสองคนในบ้าน แม่ไม่เคยมองผู้ชาย ไม่เคยสนใจใคร เพราะแม่รักลูก แม่บอกอย่างนั้น ฉันไม่เข้าใจ รักลูกมันจะตื่นเต้นตรงไหน ฉันเปิดโอกาสให้แม่คบกับผู้ชายเสมอ แต่แม่กลับสนใจอยู่แต่กับฉัน คอยสนใจว่าวันๆ ฉันจะไปไหน จะทำอะไร กินอยู่อย่างไร เบื่อจะบ้าตาย I don’t care whether he calls me or comes and sees me or not or goes to paradise or to hell. I walk back into the house and let myself down on the sofa, getting ready for a mood war with the person that gave birth to me. Why aren’t you like me, mum once asked me. Is she mad or what? How could I be like her? She’s been a widow for twenty years, the two of us alone in the house. She’s never looked at a man, never shown interest in anyone because she loves her child, that’s what she told me. I don’t understand: what’s so exciting about loving one’s child? I’m always giving her the opportunity to meet men, but she’s only interested in me, only wants to know day after day where I’m going, what I’m doing, how I’m eating and sleeping, so damn boring! ==

=

=

=

=

แม่หม้าย: widow or divorcee (also แม่ร้าง).

นั่งอ่านหนังสือก็แล้ว ดูทีวีก็แล้ว แม่ยังไม่กลับเข้ามา ฉันเริ่มรู้สึกมึนหัวเลยเดินเข้าไปนอนในห้องและหลับลงอย่างง่ายดายด้วยความอ่อนเพลีย I sit reading a book then look at TV and mum is still not back. I’m beginning to feel giddy so I step into the bedroom and easily fall asleep out of weakness.
ตื่นขึ้นมาอีกทีตอนหัวค่ำ ได้ยินเสียงแม่ทำอะไรกุกกักอยู่ข้างนอก แม่กลับเข้ามาแล้วหรือ นอกหน้าต่างมืดสนิท ฉันนอนลืมตาโพลง คิดอยู่ว่าจะออกไปพูดกับแม่ว่าอย่างไรดี แต่อย่าเลย ทำไมแม่ไม่เข้ามาคุยกับฉันในห้องล่ะ เสียงฝีเท้าของแม่เงียบไป แม่ไม่มาซักถามอะไรฉันจริงๆ ด้วย แม่เป็นอะไรไป แม่ไม่เคยเก็บความรู้สึกกับฉันแบบนี้มาก่อน ไม่เป็นไรหรอกหลับต่อก่อนเถอะ ยังไงแม่ก็ยังอยู่ในบ้านนี้วันยังค่ำ อาจจะกำลังงอนรอให้ฉันไปง้อละมัง โธ่! ไม่มีทาง แม่ก็รู้จักฉัน… I wake up again at dusk, hear some sort of clattering from mum outside. So she’s come back, has she? Out of the window it’s totally dark. I lie eyes wide open, thinking about what to say when I go out and talk to her, but better not. Why doesn’t she come and talk to me in here? The sound of her footsteps stops. She really isn’t com- ing in to ask me questions. What’s the matter with her? She’s never kept her feelings from me like this before. Never mind. Go on sleeping. No matter what she’s still in this house morning, noon and night. Maybe she’s sulking, waiting for me to try to make up. Goodness! No way. She knows me…
=
เสียงเคาะประตูเบาๆ ปลุกให้ฉันตื่น “นิ่มออกมากินข้าวเถอะลูก” ฉันเปิดประตู เห็นแม่หน้าซีด “ยาของแม่หมดแล้ว เดี๋ยวนิ่มไปซื้อให้หน่อยนะ” แม่มีโรคประจำตัวที่ขาดยาไม่ได้ ต้องกินเหมือนเป็นยาเสพติด เห็นหน้าแม่แล้วรู้สึกสงสาร แต่ในความสงสารก็กลัวว่าแม่จะพูดอะไรทำลายบรรยากาศยามเช้าตรู่ A light knock on the door wakes me up. ‘Come out and eat, Nim darling.’ I open the door, see mum’s livid face. ‘I’ve run out of medicine again. Go and buy me some, will you.’ Mum has a chronic disease that can’t go without medicine. She has to take it as if it were a drug. Seeing her face I feel pity, but in that pity I fear she’ll say something that will destroy the early morning atmosphere. ==

=

=

เหมือนเป็นยาเสพติด: ‘as if she were addicted’ is an alternative translation.

“ไม่สงสารปุ้มเขาเหรอถึงได้ทำแบบนี้” แม่เปิดฉากจนได้ “มันจบไปแล้ว ปุ้มกับหนูน่ะ” ฉันขึ้นเสียงอย่างไม่สบอารมณ์แล้วเดินหนีออกจากห้องไปนั่งที่โต๊ะอาหาร แม่ค่อยทยอยหยิบกับข้าวมาวาง กับข้าวน่ากิน แต่ … ฉันถอนใจ มองกับข้าวพวกนั้นรู้สึกเหมือนทุกจานมีหนอนดิ้นยั้วเยี้ยว “แต่นิ่มจะทำแบบนี้ไม่ได้นะ เราอยู่ในสังคม เรามีพี่มีน้อง มีญาติ มีตระกูล ปู่ย่าเขาสร้างสมกันมานาน” แม่สาธยายยืดยาวเหมือนเขื่อนที่กักน้ำไว้เต็มปรี่แล้วแตกร้าวมีรอยรั่ว น้ำค่อยๆ ซึมไหลออกมาจนเขื่อนพังทลาย ฉันนิ่งฟังเงียบ ฉันจะไม่เถียง … หยุดนะแม่ หยุดเดี๋ยวนี้ ถ้อยคำเหล่านั้นลอยเข้าหู ข้ามหัว วนเวียนกึกก้องอยู่ภายในบ้าน ก็ได้แม่ ฉันเองก็อยากรู้เหมือนกันว่าฉันเป็นคนที่มีความอดทนอยู่ตื้นลึกขนาดไหน … แม่ยังพูดต่อไป … พูด … พูด … หมดแล้ว ความอดทนของฉันอดอยู่ได้แค่ประโยค “แม่อายชาวบ้านเค้า” ‘Don’t you feel pity for Pum behaving like this?’ Mum manages to start hostilities. ‘It’s finished between Pum and me.’ I raise my voice moodily and walk out of the room to go and sit at the breakfast table. Mum follows with the food tray she puts down. The food looks delicious but I’m disheartened, look at those dishes and feel as if they have worms wriggling in them. ‘But you can’t act like this, Nim. We are in society, we have siblings, we have relatives, we have a name our grandparents have long established.’ Mum discourses at length like a dam full to the brim that develops a leakage with the first crack. The water keeps seeping out until the dam crumbles. I listen quietly without moving. I will not argue … Stop, mum! Stop right now! Those words flow into one ear, across the head, resound around the house. So be it, mum. I myself would like to know how patient I can be … Mum keeps speaking, speaking, speaking. Enough! My patience gives up with her ‘I’m ashamed of what people might say’. [We gather that Pum [short ‘oo’ sound] is the previous boyfriend – would that be ‘the man washing clothes for me’ that has fled?]
อายชาวบ้านหรือ… Ashamed of what people might say…
=
โทรศัพท์ดังขึ้นแทรกผ่านสรรพเสียงในนรกจำลองของฉัน “อินทร์ นี่ผมเองนะ แม่ว่ายังไงบ้าง” “เค้าไม่ได้ว่าอะไรหรอก จะสนใจไปทำไม” “เออ คืนนี้เพื่อนๆ ผมเขาจะขับรถไปสมุยกัน อินทร์จะไปกับผมไหม” “ไปซิ” ฉันตอบโดยที่ยังไม่มีสมองส่วนไหนสั่งการ ไปทั้งนั้น ไปไหนก็ได้ นรก สวรรค์ ไปให้พ้นจากบ้านหลังนี้ ไปให้พ้นจากแม่ “ตอนนี้สิบโมงเช้าเดี๋ยวบ่ายๆ ผมไปรับนะ” ฉันวางหูโทรศัพท์ลงอย่างไม่ยินดียินร้าย แม่คิดว่าฉันมีความสุขหรือที่ทำให้แม่โกรธ ทำให้แม่ร้องไห้ แม่โกรธฉัน ฉันก็โกรธแม่ โกรธที่แม่ยืนอยู่แต่บนมุมมองของแม่เอง The phone rings, cutting through the voice in this ersatz hell of mine. ‘It’s me. What did your mum say?’ ‘She didn’t say anything. Why should you care?’ ‘Uh, tonight my friends and I are riding to Samui*. Will you come with me?’ ‘Sure,’ I answer before any part of my brain gives instructions. Of course I’ll go, whatever the scenario, anywhere, hell or paradise, so long as it’s away from this house, away from mum. ‘It’s ten a. m. now. I’ll come and fetch you in early afternoon.’ I put down the handset without feeling anything. Does mum think I’m happy to make her angry, to make her cry? Mum is angry with me, I’m angry with her, angry that she won’t budge from her own viewpoint. ==

=

=

* Samui is the main island in mid-South on the Gulf of Thailand side.

ฉันหยิบของใส่กระเป๋าติดตัวไปไม่กี่ชิ้น ไม่มีอะไรมีความหมายกับฉันเลย ฉันมีชีวิตว่างเปล่า ใส่รองเท้าเสร็จ ฉันเดินเลี่ยงจากมุมที่แม่นั่งอยู่ไปนั่งรออ้อมที่ใต้ซุ้มต้นการเวกอีกด้านหนึ่ง อดชำเลืองดูแม่ไม่ได้ คืนนี้ฉันคงไม่กลับบ้าน แม่คงต้องคอยฉันทั้งคืน นึกอยากเดินไปบอกแม่ไปกอด ไปขอโทษแต่จะมีประโยชน์อะไรในเมื่อแม่กำลังผิดหวัง เป็นความผิดซ้ำซากที่แม่ไม่เคยคิดหนีห่างจากมัน ไม่เห็นยากเลยแม่ เพียงแค่แม่ละทิ้งความหวังทั้งหลายลงเสียเท่านั้น แม่ก็จะไม่ต้องผิดหวังอีกต่อไป I put only a few things in a bag to take along. Nothing has meaning for me. My life is empty. When I’ve put on my shoes, I sneak away from the corner where mum is sitting and go and sit to wait for Orm under the ylang-ylang vine on the other side. I can’t help casting glances at mum. Tonight I won’t be home; she’ll wait for me all night. I think of walking over to tell her, to hug her, to apologise, but what good would that be when she is disappointed? It’s a mistake she keeps making and never thinks of fleeing from. It isn’t difficult, you know, mum. Just give up all hopes and you’ll never be disappointed again.
=
ชอปเปอร์รูปร่างแปลกตาหลายคันแล่นตามกันไปบนทางหลวง ผ่านแสงไฟที่สาดส่องยามเข้าตัวเมือง บางช่วงเปลี่ยวมืดน่ากลัว เสียงแผดสนั่นของเครื่องยนต์ประสานกันคำรามลั่น ตลอดทางฉันนั่งกอดเอวหนุ่มผมยาวแน่น เอาหน้าแนบชิดแผ่นหลังของเขา ปล่อยน้ำตาไหลรินปลิวกระเซ็นไปตามแรงลมที่ปะทะมาแรงๆ ทุกคราวที่หยุดพัก จนเมื่อขึ้นเฟอร์รี่ลงถึงเกาะ ฉันจะปาดน้ำตาออกเพื่อคอยตอบรับรอยยิ้มและถ้อยคำเอาอกเอาใจจากเขาและเพื่อนๆ ยิ้ม หัวเราะ มึนเมาเหมือนกับสนุกสนาน เหมือนหลุดจากโลกของตัวเองเข้าไปผสมปนเปเป็นสมาชิกของพวกเขาเหล่านั้น คงไม่มีใครสังเกตเห็นแววตาว่างเปล่าของฉันที่ฉายวูบวาบฉาบทาอยู่บนร่างของพวกเขา เสียงหัวเราะดังลั่นเป็นระยะ ฉันยิ่งต้องกรีดเสียงให้กึกก้องกว่า ถึงอย่างไร ฉันก็ยังอยู่ในโลกตัวคนเดียว Oddly shaped choppers are speeding along the highway, past pools of lights marking the entrances to towns, some areas frighteningly desolate and dark, the noise of the engines building to a resounding roar. All the way I sit hugging the waist of the long-haired man tight, my face pressed against his back, letting tears, which are scattered by the wind that blows hard as we ride, flow freely every time we stop to rest. When we step onto the ferry to the island, I wipe out the tears to answer the smiles and words of concern of Orm and his friends, smile, laugh, tipsy as if from fun, as if I have slipped out of my own world to mix with them as a member of their group. Nobody notices the emptiness in my eyes, for all their twinkle as they linger over their bodies. Loud laughter resounds at times. I must pitch my voice higher to be heard. No matter what, I’m still alone in the world.
อ้อมแสดงความเป็นเจ้าข้าวเจ้าของฉันต่อหน้าเพื่อนๆ จนออกนอกหน้า พยายามจะเข้าถึงและแทรกตัวเข้ามาในโลกของฉัน เขากำลังเข้าใจฉันผิดอีกมากมาย แต่ฉันจะให้โอกาสเขา ถึงอย่างไร ฉันก็มีความรู้สึกว่าเขาเป็นเพื่อนที่มีอัธยาศัยดีคนหนึ่ง In front of his friends Orm behaves openly as if he owns me. He tries to reach and insert himself into my world. He misunderstands me in many other ways, but I’ll give him a chance. No matter what, I have the feeling he’s a friend with an amiable nature.
ค้างคืนที่สมุยผ่านไปสองคืนฉันก็เริ่มเบื่อ เบื่อบทสนทนาซ้ำซาก อ้อมคงจะรู้ได้จากอาการของฉันจึงคอยถามอยู่เรื่อยว่าเบื่อหรือ จะกลับไหม ฉันประทับใจผู้ชายคนนี้ เขาพาฉันกลับคืนนั้นทันทีเมื่อฉันบอกว่าเบื่อ โดยที่เพื่อนๆ ของเขายังอยู่กันต่ออีกหลายคืน ฉันจะเที่ยวอย่างสนุกสนานได้อย่างไรในเมื่อแม่ไม่รู้ว่าฉันหายไปไหน โอ๊ย เซ็งจริงๆ ทำไมฉันต้องรู้สึกผิดด้วย After two nights on Samui I’m beginning to be bored, bored with the conversation which is always the same. Orm must realise this from my behaviour so he keeps asking me if I’m fed up, do I want to go back. I’m impressed by this man. He takes me back that night at once when I tell him I’ve had enough, even though his friends will stay on for many more nights. How can I enjoy myself travel- ling around when mum doesn’t know where I have disappeared? Oh, how boring! Why do I have to feel guilty as well?
=
เขาเลี้ยวรถเข้าไปจอดชิดประตูบ้าน บ้านปิดเงียบ แม่ไปไหนนะ เราสองคนเดินเข้าไปในบ้าน ทิ้งตัวลงบนโซฟาอย่างเหนื่อยอ่อน ฉันล้มตัวนอนลง เอาขาทั้งสองข้างพาดไว้บนตักของเขา เขาขยับมือค่อยๆ บีบนวดไปตามน่องของฉันที่กำลังปวดเมื่อยพอดี ฉันส่ายหัวมองหน้าเขา อยากจะบอกเขาว่า คุณกำลังอยากทำให้ฉันรู้สึกว่าฉันไม่ได้อยู่คนเดียวในโลกใช่ไหม หยุดเถอะ ไม่สำเร็จหรอก He turns to park the bike right in front of the main door. The house is closed and silent. Where’s mum? The two of us step into the house, let ourselves drop onto the sofa, weak with tiredness. I lie down, my legs across his lap. He moves his hand to slowly massage my calves which are aching right now. I shake my head staring at him. I’d like to tell him you’re trying to make me feel I’m not alone in the world, aren’t you. Stop. You won’t succeed.
แล้วแม่ … แม่ไปไหน เอื้อมมือไปดึงผมของเขาเล่น ผมเขาสวยจริงๆ มีเสียงคนเดินเข้ามา ป้านั่นเอง ถือวิสาสะอะไรกันเนี่ย ป้าเปิดประตูบ้านเข้ามายืนจังก้าตรงหน้าเราสองคน “นิ่ม เอ็งนี่มันเลวจริงๆ มานอนกอดกับผู้ชายอยู่ได้ แม่เอ็งตายแล้วรู้ไหม ตอนนี้ตั้งสวดอยู่ที่วัด” แม่ตายก็แม่ฉัน แต่ป้า … ป้าไม่มีสิทธิมาด่าฉัน “หายไปไหนมา แม่เอ็งไม่มียากิน จนอาการกำเริบชักตาตั้ง ตอนกลางคืนฝนตกก็ออกมานั่งตากฝนรอเอ็งอยู่หน้าบ้านทุกคืน จนไม่สบายเพราะโรคแทรกซ้อน ช็อกตายเอาไปส่งโรงพยาบาลไม่ทัน หัวจิตหัวใจของเอ็งทำด้วยอะไรวะ ทำไมถึงใจจืดใจดำอย่างนี้” เสียงของป้าที่เกรี้ยวกราดอยู่ตอนแรกค่อยๆ เปลี่ยนเป็นสะอื้น “ข้าสงสารแม่เอ็งจริงๆ เอ็งเคยรักเขาบ้างไหมวะ” น้ำตาของฉันค่อยๆ ไหลรินลงอาบแก้ม ฉันลุกขึ้นเดินเข้าไปหาป้า โอบกอดป้าไว้แน่น “ป้า แม่ไปไหน” ฉันหลับตา โลกทั้งโลกหมุนคว้าง ค่อยๆ ทรุดตัวนั่งลงกับพื้น เขาค่อยๆ พยุงฉันขึ้นนั่งบนโซฟา “ไปไหว้แม่ซะ ศพอยู่ที่วัดเจ็ด” ป้าสั่งด้วยเสียงสะอื้นก่อนจะหันหลังเดินออกไป ฉันกรีดร้องเสียงดังและนานที่สุด And then mum … where is she? I stretch out my hand to pull his hair playfully. His hair is really beautiful. There’s the sound of someone walking in. It’s auntie. How dare she? She opens the main door, enters and stands with her fists on her hips in front of the two of us. ‘Nim, you’re really bad, coming here to lie hugging a man. Your mother’s dead, you know. There’s prayer service going on at the temple right now.’ Mum’s dead, she’s my mum, but auntie … auntie has no right to scold me. ‘Where have you been? Your mother didn’t have her medicine so her condition worsened, and at night it rained and she came out and sat under the rain waiting for you in front of the house every night, until she fell ill because she suffered complications and died of shock before she could be sent to hospital. What is your heart made of? Why are you so callous like that?’ Auntie’s voice, enraged at first, slowly turns to sobbing. ‘I really pitied your mother. Did you ever love her at all?’ My tears slowly flow down flooding my cheeks. I get up, walk up to auntie and hug her tight. ‘Auntie, where is mum?’ I close my eyes. The whole world is whirling. I slowly let myself down and sit on the floor. He slowly helps me up to sit on the sofa. ‘Go and pay your respects to your mother, the body is at the seventh temple,’ auntie orders in a voice full of sobs before she turns her back and walks out. I shout the longest shout at the top of my voice.
=
เลือกเสื้อยืดสีชมพูที่แม่เคยซื้อให้ แม่ชมฉันทุกครั้งว่าฉันใส่เสื้อตัวนี้แล้วดูน่ารักสดใส ฉันค่อยๆ สวมมันช้าๆ ฉันไม่ต้องไว้ทุกข์อีกแล้ว แม่ไปสบายแล้ว หมดสิ้นความทุกข์ความทรมานใดๆ ที่ฉันเป็นคนก่อ แม่ไม่ต้องมีชีวิตอยู่เพื่อเผชิญกับความผิดหวังอีกต่อไป I choose the pink t-shirt mum once bought for me. She praised me every time saying that wearing that t-shirt made me look lovely and fresh. I put it on slowly. I don’t have to be in mourning any longer. Mum is fine now, free from any sorrow and torment because of me. She doesn’t have to live to face disappointment any longer.
อ้อมเดินตามฉันเข้าไปในศาลาวัด ร่างกายโกโรโกโสของเราทั้งสอง พอจะทำให้คนที่นั่งอยู่หันมามอง ฉันรู้ว่าพวกเขาคงซุบซิบนินทาด่าว่าฉัน คนเหล่านี้ไงที่แม่เคยบอกว่า ‘อาย‘ เขานักหนา Orm follows me into the pavilion at the temple. The bodies of the two of us are ramshackle enough to have the people sitting there turn to look at us. I know they are whispering mean things about me. It was those people in front of whom mum used to say she felt ashamed.
ฉันทรุดนั่งลงจุดธูป เพ่งมองที่รูปแม่ แววตาของแม่ยังเปี่ยมไปด้วยความปรานีต่อฉัน “แม่ไม่โกรธนิ่มหรอก วันนี้ลูกใส่เสื้อสวยจัง” ฉันมองเห็นปากแม่ขยับพูด ยกมือพนมก้มลงกราบ ฉันกำลังจะได้อยู่คนเดียวแล้วใช่ไหมแม่ น้ำตาของฉันไหลพรั่งพรู I sit down to light a stick of incense, gaze at the picture of mum. Her eyes are still full of compassion for me. ‘I’m not angry with you, Nim. Today you’re so pretty in that t-shirt.’ I watch mum’s mouth moving, I raise my hands and prostrate myself. I’m going to be alone now, aren’t I, mum? My tears pour forth.
ฉันนั่งนิ่งมองรูปแม่ สะอื้นไห้เนิ่นนาน ก่อนจะลุกขึ้นเดินไปหยุดยืนที่รูป เอื้อมมือสัมผัสใบหน้าแม่ ยื่นจมูกสัมผัสแก้ม I sit still looking at mum’s picture, sob for a long time before standing up and walking up to the picture, stretching out my hand to feel her face, poking my nose to feel her cheek.
ฉันได้อยู่คนเดียวแล้วใช่ไหมแม่ I’m alone now, aren’t I, mum?
=

‘Khon Diao Nai Loak’ in Chor Karrakeit 38, 1998

Prartana Rattana, born in 1970 in Chachoengsao, east of Bangkok, is, among other occupations, a columnist, a consultant and a writer with three collections of short stories and a novel under her belt and another novel in the pipeline. .prartana2

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

