The yellow house – Fa Poonvoralak

ooo
An old, yellow-painted wooden house, free board, good food, great sex … what’s the catch? An unusual handling of the supernatural by a Thai writer, away from the routinely repulsive looks and farcical theatrics of Thai ghosts. MB

๕๖๗๘๑๐

บ้านสีเหลือง

The yellow house

old yellow house

ฟ้า พูลวรลักษณ์

FA POONVORALAK

TRANSLATOR’S KITCHEN
1
=
ภัสสรออกจากห้องของฉันไปแล้ว เหลือแต่กลิ่นหอมแปลกๆ บางอย่างและกลิ่นน้ำกามของเราสองคน เหมือนทุกครั้ง เธอจะย่องเข้ามาในห้องของฉันกลางดึก และกลับออกไปในอีกหนึ่งหรือสองชั่วโมงต่อมา บางครั้งเธอจะออกไปในยามที่ฉันเผลอหลับไป หรือเธอเดินหายไปในความมืด ปล่อยให้ฉันนอนตาค้าง Phatsorn has just left my room, leaving behind a strange perfume of some kind and the smells of our coupling. Like every time, she sneaked into my room in the middle of the night to leave one or two hours later. Sometimes she goes out as I drift into sleep, or else she steps out and disappears into the dark, leaving me lying wide-awake. Note the necessary fine-tuning of tenses in this paragraph: has just left, sneaked, goes.
สิ่งที่ฉันไม่รู้คือ ฉันคือผู้โชคดีหรือผู้โชคร้ายกันแน่ ก่อนนี้ฉันไม่ตั้งคำถามนี้เลย แต่หลังจากเหตุการณ์ผ่านไปสามเดือน ฉันเริ่มคิด What I don’t know is whether I am lucky or unlucky. Before, I never asked myself this question, but after three months of this, I began to think.
ยามกลางวันภัสสรเป็นคนเรียบร้อย แม้แต่จะแตะต้องตัวเธอสักนิดก็ไม่ได้ เธอสวย สง่า ไว้ตัว เป็นผู้ดี แม้ฉันจะรู้สึกได้ถึงความละเอียดอ่อน ตามใจตัวเอง แสนงอน  และความไม่มีเหตุผลแบบผู้หญิงของเธอ แต่ฉันจะไม่มีวันคิดออกว่าเธอจะเป็นอย่างที่เธอแสดงตัวให้เห็นในยามราตรี เมื่อเธอเป็นฝ่ายย่องเข้ามาหาฉันเอง เธอเร่าร้อนและรุนแรง ส่งเสียงครวญครางตลอดเวลาอย่างมีอารมณ์ มีน้ำออกมามาก กอดรัดฉันแน่น แม้แต่การจูบ  เธอจะจูบฉันอย่างดูดดื่มและหิวกระหาย บางครั้งฉันคิดว่าลิ้นของฉันอาจถูกเธอกลืนหายเข้าไปในลำคอ During the day Phatsorn is very proper. Touching her, even a little, is out of the question. She is pretty, dignified, reserved, a true lady. Even though I can feel her sensitivity, self-indulgence, petulance and womanly capriciousness, there is no way I can reconcile this with her behaviour in the night time. When she sneaks in to see me, she is ardent and rough, she moans passionately all along, is very wet and hugs me tight. Even kissing: she kisses me greedily and with feeling. Sometimes I think my tongue will disappear into her throat.
ฉันไม่เคยเจอผู้หญิงอย่างนี้เลย กลางวันและกลางคืนแตกต่างกันเป็นตรงกันข้าม แต่ฉันก็มีความสุขอย่างที่สุดที่ได้ร่วมรักกับเธอ ฉันคงยากจะพบพานผู้หญิงคนไหนที่ตอบสนองอารมณ์ทางเพศได้อย่างนี้อีกแล้ว เธอเหนือกว่าผู้หญิงหากินหลายคนที่ฉันเคยเจออย่างเทียบกันไม่ได้ และเหนือกว่าเมียของฉันที่เสียไปแล้วมากนัก I have never met a woman like this, of totally opposite nature by day and by night. But making love with her makes me most happy. It would be hard for me to find a woman that responds to sexual moods like this again. She is way above the prostitutes I have met, incomparably so, and very much above my poor departed wife. I have vs I’ve, it would vs it’d, she is vs she’s: to match the formal simpli- city of the original, both fitting to this piece to ‘lull’ the reader into a false sense of normality and typical of this author’s style, I’ve refrained throughout from using contractions.
=
2
=
เมียของฉันเสียชีวิตไปได้สองปีแล้ว และซ้ำร้าย ธุรกิจที่ฉันทำอยู่ก็ล้มละลาย สาเหตุหนึ่งเกิดจากสภาวะเศรษฐกิจที่ปั่นป่วนอย่างรุนแรง เนื่องจากค่าของเงินบาทที่ถูกลดลงอย่างกะทันหัน ตอนนั้นฉันรู้สึกสิ้นหวัง เกือบฆ่าตัวตายเหมือนเพื่อนบางคนของฉัน ฉันเพียงใช้ชีวิตเร่ร่อนแบบคนพเนจร แล้วพบว่าการมีชีวิตอย่างคนพเนจรที่ไม่มีอนาคตอะไร ก็มีความสุขอีกแบบหนึ่ง ทำไมก่อนนี้ฉันไม่รู้มาก่อน My wife died two years ago, and to make matters worse, my business collapsed, for one thing because of the economic crisis triggered by the sudden devaluation of the baht*. At the time, I felt hopeless, almost killed myself as some of my friends did. I merely spent my life as a wanderer and then found that living like a wanderer without any future brought happiness of another kind. Why didn’t I know this before? ==

=
* In May 1997.

ฉันเดินไปเรื่อยๆ จากหมู่บ้านหนึ่งไปยังอีกหมู่บ้านหนึ่ง เป็นการลงโทษตัวเอง ที่ยังไม่ตาย บางครั้งก็นึกขำ สนุก บางครั้งก็เศร้า อยากร้องไห้ ทำไมต้องเป็นอย่างนี้ด้วย ทำไมฉันต้องมาจนตรอกอย่างนี้ I walked on from one village to another village, punishing myself for not being dead. At times I was tickled and felt amused; at other times, sad, I wanted to cry. Why did it have to be like this? Why did I have to be cornered like this?
ในยามค่ำคืนฉันจะอาศัยวัดนอน รวมทั้งขอข้าวพระกิน หากไม่เจอวัด ฉันก็อาศัยศาลาข้างทางหรือหน้าบ้านของใครก็ได้ที่มีที่มุงหลังคา หรือบนแคร่ไม้ริมทาง At night I slept in monasteries, and relied on the monks for food as well. If I didn’t find a monastery, I made do with shelters along the way or the front of whoever’s house whose roof had eaves, or wooden benches by the roadside.
ฉันทำอย่างนี้อยู่ได้หลายเดือน จนมาถึงหมู่บ้านแห่งหนึ่ง ด้วยมีเงินติดกระเป๋าเพียงร้อยกว่าบาท ฉันไม่กล้าแม้แต่จะขึ้นรถเมล์ ฉันเดินเลียบลำคลองสายหนึ่ง มาจนถึงหน้าเรือนไม้ทาสีเหลือง เป็นบ้านเก่าที่คงมีอายุนาน  อย่างน้อยหลายสิบปี แต่ก็สวยสง่า ดูขลังไม่น้อย มันโดดเด่นผิดกับบ้านแถวนั้น อาจเป็นบ้านเศรษฐีเก่าคนหนึ่ง ฉันยืนมองดู ยิ่งมองก็ยิ่งแปลกใจ I did this for many months until I reached one particular village with hardly more than a hundred baht in my pocket. I did not dare even take a bus. I walked along a canal until I reached a wooden house painted yellow. It was an old house of many tens of years, but grand, some- what numinous. It stood out compared with the other dwellings in the area – perhaps the house of a wealthy man in the past. I stood looking at it. The more I looked, the more I wondered.
ฉันเห็นยายแก่ผมขาวคนหนึ่งนั่งอยู่บนม้าหินตัวหนึ่งหน้าบ้าน เธอดูแก่ชรามากจนไม่รู้ว่าสติของเธอยังครบถ้วนหรือเปล่า ไม่แน่ใจด้วยซ้ำว่าเธอหลับตาอยู่หรือลืมตา I saw an old white-haired woman sitting on a stone bench in front of the house. She looked so old I had to wonder whether she was all there or not. I wasn’t sure either whether her eyes were closed or open.
ด้วยความเหนื่อยล้า ฉันถือวิสาสะเข้าไปขอนั่งด้วย  แล้วถามว่า “ยาย แถวนี้มีวัดไหม” Out of tiredness, I took the liberty to go and ask for permission to sit on the bench and then asked: ‘Granny, is there a monastery around here?’
=

3
=
“หลานจะไปวัดทำไม” ‘Why do you ask, young man?’ Literally, ‘What do you want with a monastery, my grandchild?’
ยามนั้นเธอหันมามองฉัน ดวงตาฝ้าฟางของเธอให้ความรู้สึกแปลก เหมือนว่าเธอมองเห็นฉันลึกกว่าธรรมดา ฉันเคยได้ยินมาว่าคนแก่ที่ดวงตาใกล้จะบอด กลับอาจมองเห็นได้ชัดเจนกว่าคนตาดี ในบางสิ่งบางอย่างที่คนอื่นมองไม่เห็น At this point, she turned to look at me. Her misty eyes gave a strange impression, as if she saw deeper in me than one would. I have heard it said that old people who are almost blind might see better than those with good eyes, see things others don’t see.
“ผมจะไปอาศัยวัดนอนคืนนี้” ‘I need a place to sleep tonight.’
“แถวนี้ไม่มีวัดหรอก นอนที่บ้านยายก็ได้ บ้านยายมีห้องว่างตั้งเยอะ” ‘There is no monastery around here. You can sleep in my house. There are plenty of rooms.’
“ผมไม่มีเงินหรอกนะ ยาย” ‘I don’t have any money, granny.’
ฉันได้ยินเสียงหัวเราะอย่างอารมณ์ดี I heard good-humoured laughter.
“ยายอายุมากพอจะดูออกว่าใครที่ไว้ใจได้ ใครที่ไว้ใจไม่ได้ สำหรับหลาน ยายอนุญาตให้อยู่นานเท่าไรก็ได้ เรื่องเงินไม่เป็นไร วันไหนมี ค่อยให้ยาย” ‘I am old enough to know whom I can trust and whom not to trust. For you, young man, I allow you to stay as long as you like. Never mind the money. You’ll pay me when you have some.’
หากเป็นยามปกติ ฉันคงไม่ตกลง เพราะฉันไม่ไว้ใจคนแปลกหน้าที่ดูใจดีเกินเหตุ ให้นอนหนึ่งคืนก็บุญโขแล้ว เธอยังบอกให้ฉันนอนกี่คืนก็ได้ แต่ในยามนี้ฉันเป็นคนพเนจรที่ใกล้ความตายเต็มที ฉันไม่มีสมบัติมีค่าติดตัวอะไรเลย ที่กรุงเทพฯ ก็ไม่เหลืออะไร ทั้งตัวก็มีเพียงหนึ่งชีวิตซึ่งยามนี้ฉันก็ไม่รู้จะหวงไปทำไม In normal times, I would not have ac- cepted, because I do not trust strangers that seem too kind. Letting me sleep for the night was more than a blessing, yet she was telling me to stay as long as I wished. But by then I was a vagrant on the verge of death. I had nothing of value on me. There was nothing left in Bangkok either. What there was was just one life about which at this point I did not know why I should worry.
ฉันจึงตกลงอย่างว่าง่าย ราวกับว่าฉันเป็นหลานยายมานานนับปี ฉันตัดสินใจอยู่จนกว่าเธอจะออกปากไล่ ฉันได้เดินทางเร่ร่อนมาหลายหมู่บ้านจนรู้สึกเหนื่อยล้า So I agreed meekly as if I had been her grandchild for years. I decided to stay until she chased me away. I had been wandering through so many places I felt worn-out.
ฉันหวังว่า หากฉันยังมีอนาคตอยู่ สักวันฉันจะตอบแทนเธอ I hoped that, if I had a future, one day I would repay her kindness.
ในบ้านนี้ฉันเจอสมาชิกอีกสองคน คนหนึ่งคือภัสสร In that house I met two other residents. One was Phatsorn.
=

4
=
บ้านหลังนี้มีสามชั้น มีห้องเกือบสิบห้อง This house has three floors and almost ten rooms.
ไม่รู้ว่าภัสสรเป็นอะไรกับยาย อาจเป็นหลานสาวของเธอ แต่ฉันไม่สนใจเรื่องราวของคนอื่น แปลกใจที่เธอไม่ได้ทำงานอะไร วันๆ เห็นเดินไปเดินมาในบ้าน นอกจากเข้าครัวทำอาหารให้คนในบ้าน ไปจ่ายตลาด เดินเล่นนอกบ้านบ้างแล้ว เธอก็คือคนว่างงานเหมือนฉันนั่นเอง I do not know what Phatsorn is to Gran- ny, maybe her granddaughter, but other people’s affairs are no concern of mine. I was surprised that she did not do any work. Day after day I saw her walking about in the house, going into the kitchen to cook for the people in the house, going to the market, or out for a stroll occa- sionally. She had no work, just like me. ฉันไม่สนใจเรื่องราวของคนอื่น: alternatively, ‘I am not interested in other people’s affairs’.
เห็นเธอวูบแรกก็ประทับใจ ไม่คิดว่าในหมู่บ้านห่างไกลความเจริญจะมีหญิงงามขนาดนี้ ดูเป็นผู้ดี เสียงของเธอก็ไพเราะ ฉันชอบผู้หญิงเสียงเพราะมาก บวกกับเรือนร่างได้รูปของเธอ ฉันแอบเอามาคิดฝันในยามราตรี The first time I saw her I was impress- ed. I never thought that in a village far away from progress there would be a woman as attractive as this. She is well mannered. Her voice is beautiful. I like women with beautiful voices very much. With the addition of her shapely figure, I kept her in my secret dreams at night.
แต่เพียงราตรีที่สาม เธอก็ย่องเข้ามาหาฉันเอง But by the third night, she sneaked in to see me.
=
5
=
เธออาจเหงาและว้าเหว่ เธอเล่าให้ฉันฟังเองว่าสามีของเธอเสียชีวิตแล้ว ฉันปีนี้อายุสามสิบห้าปี ส่วนเธออายุสามสิบสอง ฉันไม่รู้ว่าสามีของเธอเคยทำงานอะไร และเป็นอะไรกับยาย แต่สามีของเธอคงเหลือเงินให้เธอไม่น้อย เธอจึงอยู่ได้โดยไม่ต้องทำอะไร She must have been lonely. She told me that her husband was dead. This year I will be thirty-five; she is thirty-two. I do not know what her husband did or what he was to Granny, but he must have left her quite a bundle, as she does not have to do anything for a living.
ในบ้านหลังใหญ่ที่ให้ฉันอยู่ฟรี แถมมีอาหารให้ฉันกินสามมื้อ และเป็นอาหารที่อร่อยมากด้วย นอกจากนั้นในยามราตรี ยังมีหญิงงามอย่างเธอเข้ามาร่วมรักกับฉัน มันอดทำให้ฉันระแวงไม่ได้ หรือฉันหลงเข้ามาในบ้านปีศาจแมงมุม ที่กำลังดูดน้ำเชื้อจากชีวิตที่เหลืออยู่ของฉัน ในยามเช้าของวันแรกที่ฉันมีอะไรกับเธอ ฉันยืนมองหน้าตัวเองในกระจกเงา เฝ้าสังเกตว่าบนใบหน้าของฉันมีร่องรอยบอบช้ำ ผิดปกติอะไรหรือเปล่า มันมีเงาดำคล้ำอะไรกล้ำกลายเข้ามาใต้ขอบตาไหม มองหาแววซีดขาวบนใบหน้า หรือรอยสีเขียวของการนอนกับผี In the big house where I can stay free of charge, three meals a day are provided as well, and it is very good food. Apart from that at night there is this beautiful woman coming to make love to me. I could not help feeling wary of all this. Had I strayed into the house of spider demons sucking the essence of life that remained out of me? The morning after her first night with me, I stood looking at myself in the mirror, checking for bruises on my face, for something out of the ordinary. Were there growing rings under my eyes? I searched for paleness on the face or black-and-blue marks from sleeping with a phantom. There are many ways of translating ผี, depending on the context: ghost, apparition, phantom, spirit, spook, ghoul, spectre, the dead…
อาจเป็นอุปทานของฉัน ฉันเห็นเงามืดบางอย่างบนใบหน้าจริงๆ คิดอีกที ฉันอาจระแวงไปเอง แต่แล้วฉันก็นึกขำและหมดความสนใจ หากนี่เป็นบ้านปีศาจแมงมุม ฉันก็ถือว่าตัวเองโชคดี เป็นการจบชีวิตแบบเป็นสุข สมศักดิ์ศรีชายพเนจรที่ไม่เหลืออะไรอย่างฉัน Maybe it was my own construct: I truly saw dark rings of some sort on my face. On second thought, maybe I was being too suspicious. But then I felt amused and stopped caring. If this was a spider demons’ house, I must hold that I was lucky: it was a fine way of ending one’s life, worthy of an impoverished wanderer like me.
ฉันจึงเฝ้ารอการเข้ามาหาของเธออย่างใจจดใจจ่อและไม่กังวลใจอะไรทั้งนั้น So I kept waiting for her visits with intense interest and worried about nothing at all.
=
6
=
สามเดือนมานี้ เธอเข้ามาหาฉันเกือบทุกคืน แล้วแต่อารมณ์ของเธอ เธอคือผู้เลือก ฉันเป็นเพียงผู้ตอบสนอง  มีอยู่คืนหนึ่งเธอไม่มา ทั้งที่ฉันควรรู้ตัว ด้วยกำหนัดที่ทำให้ฉันนอนไม่หลับ ฉันลองเดินย่องออกไปเคาะประตูห้องนอนของเธอ ซึ่งอยู่ชั้นบนสุด ไม่มีเสียงขานรับ ฉันยังไม่ยอมถอยกลับ ยังยืนเคาะประตูอย่างนั้น จนอีกหลายนาทีต่อมา ฉันได้ยินเสียงแหบแห้งตวาดออกมาว่า “ไปให้พ้น” In the past three months, she has come to me almost every night, depending on her mood. She decides, I merely respond. There was one night when she didn’t come. Although I should have known better, unable to sleep because of lust I risked sneaking out and knocked on her bedroom door which is on the top floor. There was no answer in return. Still unwilling to go back, I stood knocking on the door like that until several minutes went by and I heard a hoarse voice shout, ‘Go away!’
ฉันเดินกลับเข้าห้องด้วยความรู้สึกน้อยใจ อารมณ์ใคร่หดหายไป ความรู้สึกกลัวกลับเข้ามาแทนที่ นั่นเป็นเสียงของเธอหรือ I walked back to my room crestfallen, my yearning gone. A feeling of fear returned instead. Was that her voice?
ความผิดหวังบวกความหงุดหงิดทำให้ฉันคิดว่าฉันมาเป็นบ้าอะไรที่นี่ ฉันน่าจะออกเดินทางต่อไปดีกว่า เช้าวันรุ่งขึ้นฉันเก็บสัมภาระนิดหน่อยของฉันและเตรียมตัวจะไปลาคุณยาย แค่เดินออกจากห้องได้ไม่กี่ก้าวเห็นเธอเดินสวนมา เธอส่งรอยยิ้มหวานและทักทายเหมือนไม่มีอะไรเกิดขึ้น เท่านั้นความขุ่นเคืองใจทั้งหมดก็หายไป ฉันเปลี่ยนใจเก็บของไว้ที่ห้องตามเดิม และคิดว่าเป็นความผิดของฉันเอง ฉันมักมากเกินไป Disappointment added to irritation made me think how foolish I was to have come here. I had better leave and travel on. The next morning I put together my few belongings and got ready to say goodbye to Granny, but a few steps out of my room I saw Phatsorn coming my way. She smiled at me sweetly and greeted me as if nothing had happened. Just that and all my gall was gone. I changed my mind and put my things back and thought it was my fault: I had been too greedy. เธอ: ‘her’ here would be ambiguous in English: Phatsorn or Granny?
จะไปหาที่ตายที่ไหนที่อบอุ่นและเป็นสุขเหมือนบ้านหลังนี้ไม่มีอีกแล้ว Where would I find a place to die as warm and happy as this house?
=
7
=
สมาชิกคนที่สามของบ้านหลังนี้คือกลอย ลูกสาววัยเก้าขวบของภัสสร หน้าของเธอเหมือนแม่ยังกะแกะ The third occupant of the house is Kloi, Phatsorn’s nine-year-old daughter. She is the spitting image of her mother. Note the use of the present tense to denote a permanent state.
เธอไม่เรียนหนังสือและดูเป็นเด็กที่ไม่เข้ากับใครเลยทั้งหมู่บ้าน  เธอไม่มีเพื่อนเลย She does not go to school and does not seem to get along with the children in the village. She has no friends.
ฉันเห็นเธอวันๆ ชอบออกไปเดินเล่น ร้องเพลงสนุก  และชอบเดินเข้าป่าละเมาะหลังบ้าน เดินหายเข้าไปในนั้นนานๆ บางทีก็ทั้งวัน ยายกับแม่ของเธอคงจะให้อิสระเธอเต็มที่ ไม่เคยบ่นว่าอะไรเลย ฉันเคยเดินไปกับเธอ  แม้เธอจะเป็นเด็กเงียบ ที่ไม่ค่อยชอบคุยกับใคร แต่ก็ดูเข้ากับฉันได้ บางครั้งเธอยอมเดินเล่นไปกับฉันนานๆ  เข้าไปในป่า กลับเป็นฉันเสียอีกที่เบื่อ หลังจากเดินกับเธอได้สองสามครั้ง เธอคงมีความสุขมากในนั้น  บางวันเห็นเธอเดินออกมา หน้าตาอิ่มเอิบ เปล่งปลั่งเป็นสีชมพู  แววตาสดชื่น ไม่รู้มีดีอะไรในนั้น I see her day after day taking walks, singing merry songs, and she likes to go into the grove at the back of the house, disappears in it for hours, sometimes all day long. Granny and her mother seem to give her complete freedom, never say anything at all. I have walked with her at times. Even though she is a quiet child who does not like to speak to anyone, she seems to bear with me. On occasions she let me stroll along with her for hours into the grove, and it turned out I was the one who was fed up after walking with her two or three times. She must be very happy in that grove. On some days I see her coming back with a radiant face flushed pink, her eyes sparkling. I do not know what is so great in there.
ฉันเคยถามเธอว่าชอบทำอะไรในนั้น เธอบอกว่าเธอชอบไปดูนก หาแมลงแปลกๆ และชอบหาดอกกล้วยไม้ และต้นเห็ด I did ask her what she did in the grove. She told me she liked to look at the birds, look for strange insects and search for orchids and mushrooms. เคย need not always be translated by ‘used to’ or ‘once’.
“ทำไมหนูไม่ไปโรงเรียนเรียนหนังสือ” ฉันถาม ‘Why don’t you go to school,’ I asked her.
“หนูไม่ชอบค่ะ บนกระดานดำ ตัวหนังสือเหมือนตัวหนอน มันเดินได้ ยั้วเยี้ยเต็มไปหมด ดูน่าเกลียดออก” ‘I don’t like to. The letters on the blackboard are like worms that can walk, a crawling mass, it’s disgusting.’
คืนหนึ่งฉันถามภัสสร ว่าทำไมไม่ให้ลูกเข้าโรงเรียน เธอตอบฉันว่า “ไม่เป็นไรหรอก กลอยเป็นเด็กฉลาด เธอเอาตัวรอดได้ เมื่อถึงเวลาที่เธออยากเรียน เธอก็จะเรียนเอง อย่าไปบังคับใจเธอเลย” One night I asked Phatsorn why she did not let her daughter go to school. She answered, ‘Never mind. Kloi is a clever child. She can take care of herself. When she decides she wants to learn, she’ll learn by herself. There is no need to force her.’
เมื่อคนที่เป็นแม่บอกอย่างนั้น ฉันก็เลิกเซ้าซี้ ปล่อยให้ทุกอย่างเป็นไปตามธรรมชาติของมัน Since her mother spoke like this, I did not insist, letting everything follow its natural course.
=
8
=
ฉันสังเกตว่ากลอยไม่มีเพื่อน เด็กๆ หลายคนในหมู่บ้าน เวลาเห็นกลอยเดินสวนมา ก็เลี่ยงให้ ท่าทางหวาดกลัวเธอ ที่จริงคนในหมู่บ้านนี้ดูจะมีความเกรงอะไรบางอย่างกับคนในบ้านนี้ I have noticed Kloi has no friends. Many children in the village, when they see her walking up to them, avoid her, looking as if they are afraid of her. Actually, the people in this village seem to have some kind of diffidence about the people in this house.
วันหนึ่งฉันเดินเข้าไปคุยกับลุงชราคนหนึ่ง ที่บ้านของเขาอยู่ตรงข้ามลำคลองหน้าบ้านสีเหลือง ฉันเดินผ่านแผ่นไม้กระดานข้ามไปยังกระท่อมหลังเล็กของแก เพราะมักเห็นแกนั่งสูบบุหรี่เล่นคนเดียวในยามเย็น ตอนหนึ่งฉันถามแกว่า “ลุง เคยมีคนมาพักที่บ้านหลังนี้แบบผมไหม” One day I went to talk to an old man. His house is right across the canal from the yellow house. I walked across the planks to his small hut, as I could see him smoking idly on his own in the late afternoon. At one point I asked him, ‘Uncle, has there ever been people staying in this house like me?’
“มีเหมือนกัน นานๆ ครั้ง จะมีหนุ่มๆ อย่าเอ็งนี่แหละมาพักด้วย พักทีนานๆ หลายเดือน” ‘Some. Once in a while, young men like you have come and stayed there, for months at a time.’
“แล้วจากนั้นล่ะ” ‘And then?’
“แล้วก็ไม่รู้  เห็นหายตัวไป อาจกลับบ้านไปแล้วกระมัง แต่ไม่เห็นมาอีกเลย” ‘I don’t know. They disappeared. Maybe they went back home. But they never returned.’
ลุงพูดจบก็หัวเราะตาหยี แต่ฉันรู้สึกเหมือนลุงกำลังหัวเราะเยาะฉัน เมื่อฉันถามถึงพ่อของกลอย  ลุงก็ไม่รู้ Saying this, he laughed with crinkly eyes, but I felt as if he was laughing at me. When I asked about Kloi’s father, he did not know.
สามเดือนแรกที่ฉันอยู่ ฉันอยู่อย่างสบายอารมณ์ เพราะฉันไม่คิดถึงอนาคต ฉันมีที่นอนฟรีมีข้าวกินฟรี ซึ่งฉันหากหน้าด้านที่จะอยู่เท่านั้นฉันก็มีความสุข และความพอใจในกามรส ซึ่งเวลาผ่านไป ฉันพบว่ามันเป็นความรู้สึกพิเศษ มันกลายเป็นความรัก แต่ไม่เหมือนความรักที่ฉันเคยรู้ อาจเพราะมีบรรยากาศแวดล้อมแปลกๆ During my first three months here, I stayed contented because I did not think of the future. I had free room and board, and if I was thick-skinned enough to stay, it was enough to give me happiness and sexual satisfaction which, as time went by, I found to be a special feeling: it had become love, but it was unlike any love I had known, perhaps because of the strange surrounding atmosphere.
แต่ฉันก็หนีจากเธอไม่ได้ But I could not flee from her.
=

9
=
สามเดือนต่อมาฉันจึงเริ่มดิ้นรนบ้าง อย่างน้อยฉันออกไปหางานทำในหมู่บ้าน แต่ในที่แบบนี้ ฉันหางานได้เพียงการเป็นกรรมกรช่วยชาวบ้านทำงานบ้าง ส่วนใหญ่เป็นงานในไร่ อย่างน้อยฉันก็ได้ค่าแรง พอเป็นเพื่อนภัสสรไปจ่ายตลาด ฉันช่วยซื้อเนื้อซื้อปลามากินที่บ้าน แม้จะเป็นการออกเงินเพียงเล็กน้อย แต่ก็ทำให้ฉันรู้สึกตัวเองมีคุณค่าขึ้นมาบ้าง In the following three months, I began to bestir myself. I went out to work in the village but, in a place like this, the only work I could find was as a labourer helping the villagers. It was mostly work in the fields. At least I got some wages, enough to accompany Phatsorn to the market, help her choose meat and fish to eat at home. Even though it was a very small contribution, it made me feel a little more worthy. อย่างน้อย: one too many in the same paragraph; only the second one is needed.
อย่างช้าๆ ฉันเริ่มคิดถึงอนาคต ฉันคิดถึงการกลับไปทำงานในกรุงเทพฯ เท่าที่ดูสภาพเศรษฐกิจได้ผ่านช่วงเลวร้ายที่สุดไปแล้ว มันกำลังโงหัวขึ้นทีละน้อย ฉันลองหยั่งเสียงเธอดูว่าหากฉันชวนเธอไปเป็นคู่ชีวิตของฉันที่กรุงเทพฯ เธอจะไปไหม Slowly I began to think about the future. I thought about going back to work in Bangkok. From what I could see the economic situation was past its worst and improving little by little. I tried to sound her out to see if she would go if I invited her to be my life partner in Bangkok.
“ก็ที่นี่เป็นบ้านของสร แล้วจะให้สรไปหาบ้านใหม่ที่ไหน พี่ไม่มีความสุขที่อยู่ที่นี่หรอกหรือ” ‘This is my house, where do you want me to find a new one? Aren’t you happy living here?’
เธอหัวเราะเมื่อตอบฉัน She laughed as she answered me.
“มีสิ แต่อยู่ที่นี่นานๆ พี่ละอายใจ พี่หางานจริงๆไม่ได้ ต้องกลับไปกรุงเทพฯ พี่ทำงานเกี่ยวกับบ้านจัดสรร  ครั้งที่แล้วพี่พลาดไป พี่คิดจะเริ่มต้นใหม่ แต่พี่อยากให้สรไปอยู่ด้วย เป็นกำลังใจให้พี่” ‘Of course I am, but staying here for long makes me feel ashamed. I can’t find proper work here. I must go back to Bangkok. I’m into housing development. Last time I failed. I’m thinking of starting anew, but I’d like you to come with me, to give me strength.’
“ทำให้ได้ก่อนเถิด  ค่อยมาชวน” เธอหัวเราะอีกและตอบฉันอย่างคลุมเครือ ฉันไม่คาดคั้นเอาคำตอบ ที่จริงฉันเองก็ยังไม่พร้อม หากเธอไปอยู่กับฉัน แล้วยายกับกลอยล่ะ พวกเธอก็ต้องไปอยู่ด้วย วันนี้ฉันยังไม่สามารถรับภาระคนสามคน ‘Go ahead first and then come back to invite me.’ She laughed again. I did not press her for a more definite answer. Actually, I myself was not ready. If she went and stayed with me, what about Granny and Kloi? They would have to come too. At the moment, I was not in a position to burden myself with three lives. และตอบฉันอย่างคลุมเครือ (and answered me ambiguously): the wording is redundant (her answer speaks for itself), and ‘more definite’ added to the next sentence expresses the same idea.
ภัสสรไม่ห้ามหากฉันจะไป ไม่เหนี่ยวรั้ง แต่ในขณะเดียวกันแม้เธอจะไม่พูด ฉันคิดว่าเธอคงไม่จากบ้านหลังนี้ไปง่ายๆ Phatsorn did not forbid me to leave, did not hold me back. But at the same time, even though she did not say anything, I thought she would not leave this house easily.
ฉันสังเกตว่าแม้เธอจะพูดจาไพเราะ แต่คลุมเครือ  ส่วนใหญ่ฉันยากจะได้ข้อมูลอะไรจากเธอ เมื่อฉันถามเธอตรงๆ ในสิ่งที่ฉันอยากรู้ เธอก็ตีหน้าตาย มองหน้าฉันเฉยพร้อมทั้งยิ้มๆ ไม่ตอบ มีเพียงแววตาขบขันของเธอ I noticed that even though she express- ed herself beautifully, she was ambigu- ous. In most cases, it was difficult for me to get any information from her. When I asked her straight about what I wanted to know, she turned stony-faced, stared at me, smiling lightly, and did not answer, with a mere glint of amusement in her eyes.
การคุยกับเธอที่ดี บางครั้งคือการไม่คุย The best way to talk to her sometimes was not to talk.
ฉันต้องคาดคะเนเอาเอง มันเป็นกลของเธอ She kept me guessing. That was her trick.
=
๑๐ 10
=
เมื่อฉันเริ่มคิดถึงอนาคต ฉันก็พบว่าบ้านหลังนี้มีอะไรหลายอย่างที่ผิดสังเกต มันอยู่ล้อมรอบตัวฉันมากมายเป็นบรรยากาศ มีคำถามมากมายที่ไม่มีคำตอบ When I began to think of the future, I found that this house had many things that did not look right. I found it oppressive in many ways. There were many questions without answers.
คืนวันนั้นเรานั่งกินข้าวเย็นด้วยกัน ที่จริงเราไม่ได้นั่งด้วยกัน มันเป็นธรรมเนียมของบ้านนี้ พวกเธอสามคนนั่งกินด้วยกันที่โต๊ะหนึ่งอย่างเงียบกริบเหมือนทุกครั้ง ส่วนฉันที่เป็นแขกนั่งกินบนโต๊ะเล็กอีกตัวหนึ่ง มันเป็นอย่างนี้มาตั้งแต่วันแรก ซึ่งตอนนั้นฉันก็รู้สึกสมเหตุสมผลดี แต่เวลาผ่านมาหกเดือนแล้ว ฉันเริ่มแปลกใจ ทำไมไม่ให้ฉันนั่งกินข้าวร่วมโต๊ะกับพวกเธอ ทั้งที่โต๊ะนั้นก็ ใหญ่พอสำหรับฉันอีกคน ทำไมพวกเขาต้องนั่งกินข้าวอย่างเงียบกริบแบบนั้นด้วย One evening we sat having dinner together. Actually we didn’t sit together. It was the custom in this house. The three of them sat eating together at one table in silence as usual. I as the guest sat at a separate, small table. It had been like this from the first day, which at the time I had found proper, but six months had gone by and I had begun to wonder. Why would they not let me sit with them at the same table, which was large enough to accommodate me? Why did they have to sit in complete silence like this as well?
บ้านนี้กินข้าวเย็นช้า ประมาณสองทุ่ม อันนี้ไม่แปลก  ฉันไม่สนใจ แต่คืนนี้ฉันนั่งกินข้าวไป นึกไตร่ตรองสิ่งรอบข้างด้วยความสงสัย This house has dinner late, around eight. Nothing strange in that, I do not mind, but tonight I sit eating and ponder- ing the things around me with suspicion.
เวลานั้น มีใครคนหนึ่งที่ฉันไม่เคยเห็นมาก่อนเดินเข้ามาในบ้าน เธอเป็นหญิงวัยกลางคน อายุราวห้าหกสิบ ท่าทางภูมิฐาน แต่งตัวดี เมื่อเธอเดินเข้ามาในห้องโถง ผ่านโต๊ะอาหารของเรา Right now, someone I have never seen before comes in. It is a woman in her fifties, well dressed and elegant as she enters the dining room and walks past our dinner tables. วัยกลางคน อายุราวห้าหกสิบ: middle-aged at fifty to sixty? Wow!
    Note ‘dinner tables’: there are two.
จากไฟกลางห้อง ทำให้เห็นใบหน้าของผู้หญิงคนนี้ชัดเจนพอสมควร ฉันสะดุ้ง หน้าของเธอคล้ายภัสสร นี่คงเป็นแม่ของเธอ ทำไมฉันไม่เคยเห็นเธอมาก่อน หากเป็นแม่ของเธอจริง ทำไมภัสสรไม่เข้าไปทักทาย เธอยังคงนั่งกินข้าวอย่างหน้าตาเฉย หากเธอเป็นแม่ของภัสสร เธอก็ควรเป็นยายของกลอย แต่กลอยก็เช่นกัน เธอนั่งกินข้าวอย่างเงียบๆ ราวกับมองไม่เห็น The light at the centre of the room allows me to see her face clearly enough. I start. She looks like Phatsorn. She must be her mother. Why haven’t I seen her before? If she really is her mother, why doesn’t Phatsorn greet her? She still sits eating with a bland face. If she is Phatsorn’s mother, she must be Kloi’s grandmother, but Kloi is the same: she sits eating quietly as if she sees nothing.
ผู้หญิงที่ฉันคิดว่าเป็นแม่ของภัสสรเดินผ่านตัวฉันไป เธอเหลือบสายตามองฉันนิดหน่อย แล้วเดินตรงไปยังมุมห้อง ไปที่ตู้เก็บของเก่าแก่สีน้ำตาลใบใหญ่ เธอทรุดตัวลงนั่งกับพื้น เปิดลิ้นชักตู้ใบนั้น เธอกำลังค้นหาของอะไรบางอย่าง แสงไฟส่องไปไม่ถึงมุมนั้นนัก มันเป็นเพียงเงาสลัวๆ ครู่ใหญ่เธอค้นพบสิ่งที่ต้องการ เธอเอาใส่ไว้ในห่อผ้าที่เธอถือมา แล้วก็ค่อยๆลุกขึ้นยืน หันกายเดินกลับออกไปที่ประตู The woman whom I think is Phatsorn’s mother walks past me. She casts a glance at me then walks straight to a corner of the room, to the large brown cupboard where old things are kept. She lowers herself down and sits on the floor, opens a drawer. She is searching for something. The light does not quite reach that corner. She is only a vague form in the dark. Quite a while later, she finds what she wants. She puts it in the cloth bag she has come with and slowly gets up, turns round and walks back to the door.
ในเวลานั้นเอง ปริศนาที่ลี้ลับที่สุดในใจของฉันก็สว่างวาบ Right then, the most baffling puzzle in my mind falls into place.
ความผิดปกติที่สุดในบ้านหลังนี้อยู่ต่อหน้าฉันมานานตั้งแต่วันแรก แต่ฉันกลับนึกไม่ออก นั่นคือสมาชิกทั้งสามในบ้านหลังนี้ไม่เคยคุยกันเลยและไม่เคยแตะเนื้อต้องตัวกัน The most unusual feature of this house has been staring me in the face from the first day but I have never thought about it, and that is that the three occupants of this house never talk to one another and never touch one another. Here, the temptation would be to avoid a repetition (‘never talk and never touch one another’ or ‘never talk or touch one another’) but the emphasis is needed.
มันผิดปกติอย่างสูงสุด ทุกวันภัสสรเธอจะทำอาหารแล้วเรียงวางไว้บนโต๊ะ จากนั้นยายกับกลอยก็มานั่งประจำตำแหน่งของเธอ กินเสร็จแล้วก็ไป ไม่มีการพูดคุยกันเลย ฉันไม่เคยเห็นแม่ลูกที่ไหนจะปฏิบัติต่อกันอย่างนี้ This is most unusual. Every day Phat- sorn cooks the food and then lays it out on the tables. After that Granny and Kloi come and sit down at their usual places. When they have finished eating they leave. There is no conversation. I have never seen a mother and child anywhere behave towards each other in this way.
แต่บัดนี้ฉันเข้าใจแล้ว มันเกิดขึ้นในวูบนี้เอง ที่หญิงวัยกลางคนคนนั้นเดินเข้ามาหยิบของในตู้ ในทันทีที่ฉันเข้าใจ ฉันรู้สึกขนลุกซู่ไปทั่วกาย มือของฉันที่ถือช้อนอยู่ยามนี้มีอาการสั่นระริก รวมไปถึงขาสองข้างของฉันด้วย But now I understand – a sudden insight when the middle-aged woman enters to pick up something in the cupboard. The moment I understand, I feel my hair stand on end all over me. My hand holding the spoon by now is trembling, as do my legs.
=

‘Barn See Lueang’ in 24 Rueang San Khong Fa (24 short stories by Fa), thaicanto.com, December 2010

=
Bangkok-born and partly educated
in England, Fa Poonvoralak, 59,
is a multitalented wizard (thaicanto.com): canto bard, concept artist and filmmaker, prolific novelist
and short-story writer,
with one foot in Oriental myths
and his head in cosmic clouds.
.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

One thought on “The yellow house – Fa Poonvoralak

  1. สนุกดีนะครับ แต่ผมไม่ค่อยเข้าใจเรื่องนี้เลยครับเรื่องอื่นอ่านแล้วเข้าใจนะแต่เรื่องนี้งงๆ

Leave a Reply

