Little sister – Notthee Sasiwimon

A little murder-cum-rape suspense for a change, something that, I read somewhere, only happens once every fifteen minutes in this happiness-steered country. MB

น้อง

LITTLE SISTER

shoe in grass shoe in grass

นทธี ศศิวิมล

Notthee Sasiwimon

TRANSLATOR’S KITCHEN
= = =
เป็นห้วงเวลาที่ผมจะไม่มีวันลืมเลยชั่วชีวิตนี้ It was a time I shall never forget. ชั่วชีวิตนี้ (all my life) need not be translated.
ตลอดทางที่ต้องขับรถไปที่โรงพยาบาลแห่งนั้นผมต้องพบกับประสบการณ์ประหลาดคือทั้งอยากให้ถนนหดสั้นลง แต่ในไม่กี่วินาทีต่อๆมาผมก็กลับรู้สึกว่าอยากให้ถนนสายนี้ทอดยาวออกไปอีก อยากวนรถกลับบ้าน แล้วก็กลับเหยียบคันเร่งลงไปอีก สลับกันไปมาเช่นนี้ All the way as I drove to that hospital I had a strange experience, which was that I wanted the road to be shorter but a few seconds later wanted it to stretch on and on, I wanted to make a U-turn and go back home but then stepped harder on the accelerator, one way and the other like this all along.
ภาพเก่าในอดีตวนฉายอยู่บนฉากความคิด ตอนที่น้องทำน้ำหกใส่ขนมสายไหมจนวาบหายแล้วนั่งร้องไห้ กอบเศษน้ำหวานสีแดงจางๆขึ้นมา ขอร้องให้ผมช่วยเสกขึ้นมาใหม่  น้องใส่ชุดนักเรียนกระโปรงสีแดงยืนกอดขาแม่แน่นในวันที่เข้าโรงเรียนวันแรก ร้องว่าแม่จ๋า กลับบ้าน ตอนที่ผมช่วยอุ้มน้องให้ปีนขึ้นไปบนบันไดขั้นบนสุดของไม้ลื่นที่โรงเรียน ตอนที่ผมแอบเอามะเขือเทศในข้าวผัดใส่ในจานน้อง  ตอนที่เราพากันวิ่งไปแอบผีแม่นากพระโขนงกันในตู้เสื้อผ้าหลังจากดูหนังเรื่องนั้นด้วยกันได้เพียงครึ่งเรื่อง ตอนที่นอนจับมือกันร้องให้ พยายามแกล้งหลับอยู่ในห้องนอนคืนที่พ่อทะเลาะกับแม่ Pictures of the past kept showing up on the screen of my mind. When my little sister spilt some water onto the candy floss making it melt and then sat crying as she scooped up some of the pinkish sugary waste and begged me to conjure a new candy floss … She wore her school uniform, white blouse and red skirt, as she stood hugging mum’s legs tight since she was going to school for the first time, crying ‘Mummy, mummy, let’s go home!’ … When I hugged her to help her climb the slippery wooden steps leading into the school … When I sur­rep­titiously slipped a tomato into her fried rice … When we ran to hide in the wardrobe from the Phra­khanong female ghost after we had watched only half of that film together … When we lay holding hands and crying trying to sleep in the bedroom while our parents quarrelled. ภาพเก่า, old pictures: pictures of the past are not new.
ยังมีตอนที่น้องมาเต้นท่าเชียร์ลีดเดอร์ให้ผมดูตอนที่เธออยู่ ม. 1 และตอนที่เธอสวมชุดนักกีฬาวอลเลย์บอลของโรงเรียนวาดลวดลายในสนามแข่ง สีหน้าตอนที่เธอกับเพื่อนพากันหนีโรงเรียนไปเที่ยวห้างแล้วโดนสารวัตรนักเรียนจับได้และตามพ่อกับผมไปรับตัวกลับ เสียงของเธอฮัมเพลงโปรดเล่นในบ้านตอนกำลังทำกับข้าว ตวาดแว้ดของเธอเวลาที่ผมพูดอะไรไม่ถูกใจ  แล้วยังตอนที่เธอร้องไห้เหมือนจะขาดใจตายเมื่อรู้ว่าสอบเอนทรานซ์ไม่ติด There was also the time when she came to dance like a cheerleader for me to watch on her first year in high school and when she put on the school’s volley ball outfit to paint the edges of the playing court; her expression when she and a friend of hers played truant to trawl a department store and were caught by a school prefect who led father and me to her to take her back; her voice as she sang her favourite songs in the house while she cooked; her bawling when I said something she didn’t like; and also the time when she cried as if she was going to die when she found out she’d flunked university entrance.
ครั้งหนึ่งตอนที่เธอปิดเทอมกลับจากมหาวิทยาลัยมาอยู่บ้าน เรานั่งดูซีรี่ย์ฝรั่งแนวสืบสวบสอบสวนที่โปรดปราน ตอนหนึ่งเป็นเรื่องวัยรุ่นสาวที่อยากหนีออกจากบ้าน ไม่อยากให้ใครตามหาพบจึงวางแผนกับเพื่อนชายสร้างหลักฐานลวงเพื่อให้ทุกคนเชื่อว่าเธอถูกฆาตกรรมตายไปแล้วแต่หาศพไม่พบ ทั้งรอยเลือด เสื้อผ้า รองเท้า เส้มผม น้องยังพูดกับผมว่าเป็นวิธีที่ฉลาดมาก ผมไม่ชอบที่เธอพูดอย่างนั้นเลย Once when she came back home during the university break, we sat watching a favourite foreign detective series. The episode was about a young girl who wanted to flee from home, didn’t want anyone to follow and find her, so she hatched up a scheme with a male friend so that everyone would think she’d been murdered but her body wouldn’t be found, in spite of leaving behind blood tracks, clothes, shoes and hair strands. She said to me it was a very clever plan. I didn’t like her saying so at all.
=
“ครับ รูปพรรณสัณฐาน อายุ ใกล้เคียงกับที่คุณแจ้งมามาก เสียชีวิตมาราว 48 ชั่วโมง” ‘Yes sir, the description and age match the person you reported missing. The death goes back to some forty-eight hours ago.’
“พอบอกได้ไหมครับ ว่าคนตายเสียชีวิตที่ไหน เพราะอะไร” ‘Can you tell me where it happened and why?’
“ยังครับ” ปลายสายตอบ “ไว้หากคุณระบุตัวผู้ตายได้แล้วว่าเป็นญาติคุณแน่นอน เราจะแจ้งรายละเอียดทุกอย่างเกี่ยวกับผู้ตายให้คุณทราบอีกทีครับ” ‘Not yet, sir,’ the man at the other end of the line answered. ‘Once you identify the person who died as your relative, we’ll give you all the details concerning the deceased.’
=
รถมอเตอร์ไซค์จอดทิ้งไว้ริมถนนระหว่างทางไปโรงเรียนที่น้องเป็นครู ในตำแหน่งที่ไม่น่าจอด เพราะไม่มีสิ่งปลูกสร้างหรือสิ่งสำคัญใดบริเวณนั้น ซึ่งเป็นเพียงถนนตัดผ่านป่าละเมาะและหญ้าแห้งๆ น้องต้องจอดรถเพราะเหตุผลบางอย่างที่ไม่ปกติเอามากๆ The motorcycle was ditched by the roadside on the way to the school where she taught in a place where it shouldn’t be parked because there was no building whatsoever or anything important in the vicinity; the road merely cut through groves and dried grass. She must have stopped the bike for some reason very much out of the ordinary.
เมื่อสามวันที่แล้วผมได้ทราบมาอย่างนั้นหลังจากเพื่อนรูมเมตของน้องโทรมาบอกพ่อกับแม่ว่าน้องหายตัวไปเฉยๆหลังบอกว่าจะออกไปเอาเอกสารที่ลืมไว้ในห้องพักครู ติดต่อทางโทรศัพท์ไม่ได้ พวกเราจึงรีบออกตามหา และพบรถจอดไว้ Three days earlier, I had learned this much when her roommate called to tell my parents my sister had dis­ap­­pear­ed after saying she’d go and retrieve a doc- ument she’d forgotten in the staff room. She couldn’t be contacted by phone. So we hurriedly went out to look for her and then found her abandoned motorcycle.
เมื่อขยายวงตามหากว้างออกไปอีก เราพบรองเท้าของน้องข้างหนึ่งตกอยู่ในป่าละเมาะนั้น ลึกเข้าไปราวห้าสิบเมตร แม่หวีดร้อง ทรุดลงเอารองเท้าน้องขึ้นมากอดแนบอก ร้องไห้โฮแล้วเป็นลมหมดสติไป หลังจากนั้นพ่อโทรแจ้งตำรวจ พวกเขาช่วยกันตามหาน้องโดยใช้จุดที่พบมอเตอร์ไซค์เป็นจุดศูนย์กลางแล้วขยายไปเรื่อยๆ เรื่อยๆ จนเกือบทั่วตำบลแล้ว แต่เบาะแสก็ยังคงมีเพียงรองเท้าข้างนั้น When we enlarged the search, we found one of her shoes in the grass some fifty yards away from the road. Mum shrieked, bent down, took the shoe and clutched it to her bosom, then let out a shout and lost consciousness. After that, dad called to inform the police. They began a search using the place where the motorcycle was found as the starting point and widened it to almost the entire district, but that single shoe remained the only clue.
“สามวันแล้วนะคุณ คนเราปกติไปไหนไม่ถอดรองเท้าทิ้งไว้หรอก เราต้องมองในมุมที่แย่ที่สุดไว้ก่อน จะได้เผื่อใจ ทำใจได้ทัน ไม่ใช่ผมไม่รักลูก ถ้าลูกกลับมาปลอดภัยก็เป็นกำไร” ‘Three days already, you know. Usually when we go somewhere we don’t drop our shoes like that. We must envisage the worst first so we can cope with it. It isn’t that I don’t love her. If she comes back safe and sound, it’ll be a bonus.’
“คุณพูดบ้าอะไรอยู่ เผื่ออะไร ปากเสีย แช่งลูกทำไม ลูกยังไม่เป็นอะไรหรอก รีบออกไปตามหาต่อดีกว่า” ตั้งแต่เห็นรองเท้าข้างนั้น น้ำตาแม่ก็ยังไม่เคยเหือดแห้งจากใบหน้า รวมทั้งไม่สนใจข้าวน้ำหรือนอนหลับพักผ่อนอีกด้วย กระทั่งฝนตกหนัก ผมกับพ่อช่วยกันลากแม่เข้าบ้าน แม่ยังเข้ามานั่งร้องไห้หูแนบที่ประตู เป็นห่วงกลัวน้องจะเปียกฝน กลัวน้องกลับมาเรียกขอเข้าบ้านแล้วแม่จะไม่ได้ยิน ‘Nonsense! What are you saying? You and your big mouth! Why are you jinxing her? Nothing’s hap­pened to her. Hurry up looking for her instead.’ Since she’d seen that shoe, mum’s tears hadn’t left her face, she didn’t care about eating or rest- ing. When it rained hard, dad and I drag- ged her back into the house, she still came and sat crying in front of the door, worried my sister would be drenched in the rain, afraid my sister would be back and call to be let in and she wouldn’t hear her.
แม่เพิ่งจะหมดแรงหลับไปเมื่อเช้าวันนี้ ดังนั้นเมื่อตอนที่ตำรวจโทรมา พ่อจึงเรียกให้ผมไปคุยรายละเอียด และบอกให้ผมไปที่ ร.พ.แทนพ่อกับแม่ Totally exhausted, mum finally fell asleep this morning. Thus when the police called, dad called me over to provide the details and told me to go to the hospital instead of him and mum.
“มีอะไร…ก็รีบโทรมาบอกพ่อ”…พ่อพูดเสียงสั่นๆ “ให้แม่เขาได้นอนพักสักหน่อย…สักงีบหนึ่งก็ยังดี แกโทรมาบอกพ่อ โทรเข้ามือถือ พ่อจะเปิดระบบสั่นไว้ ให้แม่เขานอนพักผ่อน แต่พ่อจะถือโทรศัพท์ไว้ตลอด ถ้าแกโทรมาพ่อจะรีบรับ” ‘If there’s anything, call me at once … Let mum rest for a while; even a few hours will do her good. You call me on my mobile; I’ll put it on vibrate. We’ll let mum sleep but I’ll keep the phone with me all the time and answer as soon as it rings.’
=
ยิ่งใกล้จุดหมายปลายทางเข้าไปเท่าไร อาการใจสั่น มือสั่นและหวิวในอกก็มากขึ้นทุกที สติ สมาธิที่จะขับรถต่อไปก็แทบไม่มีแล้ว ผมคอแห้ง ท้องแห้ง เหมือนทุกอย่างในตัวผมมันแห้งเหือดไปหมด เมื่อเห็นปั๊มน้ำมันข้างหน้า ผมจึงเลี้ยวเข้าไปจอด ลงไปมองหาเครื่องดื่มอะไรสักอย่างที่อาจช่วยให้ผมชุ่มชื่นขึ้นบ้าง The closer I got to the destination the more my heart quaked, the more my hands shook and the dizzier I felt. I could hardly concentrate enough to keep on driving. My throat was dry, my stomach seared, it was as though everything in me was parched. When I saw a petrol station ahead, I turned into it, stopped and went out to look for a drink that would help refresh me.
กาแฟกระป๋องและน้ำเปล่าอีกครึ่งขวดที่กรอกลงคอไปช่วยให้ชุ่มคอขึ้นเพียงไม่กี่วินาทีต่อมา บทสนทนาที่ลอยมาเข้าหู จากลูกค้าที่เพิ่งเดินสวนเข้าไปในร้าน ทำเอาผมใจสั่นแทบจะเป็นลมอีกครั้ง The can of coffee and half bottle of water I guzzled refreshed me only for a few seconds. The conver­sa­tion that drifted to my ears from customers who’d just entered the shop shook me so much I almost passed out.
“น่าสงสารนะ ลูกเมียใครก็ไม่รู้ ผู้หญิงขาวเลยนะหน้าตาน่ารักด้วย ในข่าวเขาว่ามันทำแล้วมันก็เอาหินทุบหัว มีดแทงตั้งหลายแผล แล้วลากลงไปทิ้งในดงหญ้าทั้งแก้ผ้าอย่างงั้น เลือดยาวเป็นทางเข้าไปเลย ระยำจริงๆคนเรา คนเราเดี๋ยวนี้น่ากลัว” ‘What a shame! No idea who she was. Light skin and quite pretty too. In the news they said after he was done he smashed her head with a rock and there are many knife wounds as well and then he dragged her through the grass all naked like that, leaving behind a long trail of blood. How vile! People these days are scary.’
ผมรีบกลับเข้ารถ ติดเครื่องแล้วขับออกไปอย่างเร็วที่สุด แต่เพียงสิบนาทีต่อมารถก็ค่อยๆชลอเข้าจอดข้างทางช้าๆ ผมดับเครื่อง ฟุบหน้าลงกับพวงมาลัยก่อนจะปล่อยโฮออกมาอย่างสุดกลั้น ใคร อะไร ที่ผลักดันให้ผมต้องมาติดอยู่ในสถานการณ์แบบนี้ I hurried back to the car, started up and drove off as fast as I could, but only ten minutes later slowed down and stopped by the wayside. I switched off the engine, collapsed over the steering wheel and let out a bellow. Who – what was pushing me into a situation like this? Here, a slight adjustment: it isn’t the car reducing speed and stopping by itself.
ผมยังจำวันนั้นได้ดี ตอนที่เธอนั่งอยู่ที่เบาะข้างคนขับตรงนี้ ท่าทางตื่นเต้นตอนที่ดึงสายเข็มขัดนิรภัยมาเสียบลงล็อก พ่อกับแม่นั่งที่เบาะหลัง ทุกคนต่างชอบใจกับเซอร์ไพรส์เล็กๆในวันปีใหม่ปีนั้น ที่ผมถอยรถป้ายแดงคันแรกของบ้านมารับพ่อ แม่ และน้องไปเที่ยวทะเลด้วยกัน เธอบ่นตลอดทางว่าเหม็นเบาะใหม่ แต่ก็ยังคุยจ้อร่าเริงไปตลอดทาง ชี้ชวนให้ผมดูข้างทาง แก้มแดงปลั่งด้วยความตื่นเต้นเหมือนเด็กๆ วันนั้นผมเปิดวิทยุฟังเพลง คลื่นเพลงสากล เป็นเพลงของ Anya เสียงน้องพยายามร้องตาม ถูกๆผิดๆ พ่อถามขึ้นว่านั่นแกร้องเพลงหรือสวดมนต์ เล่นเอาน้องงอนหน้าง้ำ เสียงหัวเราะของพ่อ แม่ น้อง และผม เคยดังก้องอยู่ในรถคันนี้ I still remember that day very well, when she sat upfront beside the driver, looking excited as she pulled on the seat belt and locked it. Dad and mum sat on the back seat. Everybody was pleased with the little surprise of New Year’s Day that year: I had taken the family’s brand-new first car to drive my parents and sister to the seaside. She kept complain- ing about the smell of the new seats while keeping a gay chatter all the way, pressing me to look at the scenery on the sides, her cheeks flushed with excitement like a child. That day I turned on the radio to listen to songs, English songs by Anya Marina. My sister sang along quite out of tune. Dad asked her whether she was singing or chanting prayers, making her sulk and pout. The laughs of all four of us did resound in that car! ==

=

=

=

=

=

Anya-Marina
Anya Marina (US singer born 1976)

ผมยังจำได้เสียงสวดมนต์ก่อนนอนของน้อง ตอนเด็กๆพวกเราพ่อ แม่ ลูก สวดมนต์ก่อนนอนพร้อมกันเสมอ เราแผ่เมตตา ร่วมกัน สัตว์ทั้งหลาย ที่เป็นเพื่อนทุกข์ เกิด แก่ เจ็บ ตาย ด้วยกันทั้งหมดทั้งสิ้น จงเป็นสุข เป็นสุขเถิด… I still remember the sound of her prayers before she went to sleep. When we were little, we – father, mother, daugh- ter and son – prayed together before go- ing to sleep, we extended loving kindness to all, all the animals that shared our woes from birth to death so we could be happy, oh let us be happy.
แว่วเสียงเพลงในหัว เพลงของวงจีวันที่เมียชอบเปิดให้ลูกฟังตอนเช้า และผมแซวบ่อยๆ ว่าเธอคงอยากสะกดจิตลูกให้หลับต่อมากกว่าตื่นขึ้นมาล้างหน้าแปรงฟัน ตื่นนอนแต่เข้า นิมนต์พระพุทธ- เจ้า มาประทับที่ใจ จะทำพูดคิดอะไรให้เรานึกถึงพระองค์” A song is going round in my head, a song by G-One Band my wife puts on for our son in the morning.* I like to tease her about trying to mesmerise him to keep him asleep rather than having him wake up and wash his face and brush his teeth. ‘First thing in the morning Calling the Buddha into our minds Will make us aware of Him Whatever we do or think.’ * G-One Band sings edifying Buddhist songs.
g one
ผมสูดลมหายใจเข้า พนมมือสั่นเทา อาราธนาศีลห้าในใจด้วยบทสวดกระท่อนกระแท่น  ผมไม่ใช่คนดี ใจซื่อมือสะอาด ผมเคยโกงเพื่อน เคยทุจริตสอบ เคยนอนกับแฟนคนอื่น โกหกไม่เว้นแต่ละวัน แต่ผมก็ตั้งใจจะรักษาศีลห้าหลังจากนี้ และถึงจะน้อยนิดแค่ไหนผมก็ขออำนาจความดีที่ผมเคยทำมาตลอดทั้งชีวิตนี้และในอนาคต ช่วยผมด้วยเมื่อผมไปถึงที่นั่น สวดมนต์ทุกบทที่จำได้มาตลอดทางที่เหลือ I take a deep breath, join hands and recite the Five Precepts through snatches of prayers. I’m not a good person, honest and clean. I’ve cheated friends, cheated at exams, slept with other people’s wives, lied day in day out, but I intend to observe the Five Precepts from now on. No matter how little, I want the power of the good I’ve done in this life and will do in the future to help me when I get there, reciting all the prayers I can remember all along the way that remains.
เมื่อรถเคลื่อนมาถึงหน้าโรงพยาบาลและผมหมุนพวงมาลัยเพื่อกลับรถ และเสียงแตรดังสนั่นจากรถกระบะที่ขับมาด้วยความเร็วจากอีกฝั่งแผดดังยาว เสียงทั้งหลายทั้งปวงที่กำลังวุ่นวายอยู่ในหัวก็พลันมลายหายไปสิ้น เหลือเพียงความเงียบกึกก้องในห้องโดยสาร When the car came in front of the hospital and I turned the steering wheel to back up and park, there was resounding hooting from the van coming fast from another side, long loud hooting, and all the sounds that buzzed in my head suddenly cleared, leaving behind only resounding silence in the cabin.
หมดเวลาของบทสวด หมดเวลารอคอย หมดเวลาผลัดวันประกันพรุ่ง… No more prayers, no more waiting, no more procrastination…
=
ในสถานที่ที่ผมคงต้องจดจำไปตลอดชีวิต ในห้องแคบๆ สีขาว ผมยืนอยู่ระหว่างนายตำรวจทั้งสองและร่างใต้ผ้าขาวตรงหน้า ร่างกายของผมอ่อนเบาเหมือนบรรจุด้วยฟองน้ำแต่เท้าทั้งสองกลับหนึกอึ้งแทบยกไม่ไหวเมื่อพยายามก้าวไปข้างหน้า อากาศเย็นเฉียบและกลิ่นไม่เป็นมิตรของสารเคมีบางอย่างคละคลุ้งในโพรงจมูก In a place I’ll definitely remember all my life, a narrow white room, I stood between two police officers and a body beneath a white cloth, my own body light as if made of sponge but my feet heavy as lead when I tried to go forward. The icy-cold air and the inimical smell of chemical products of some sort offended my nostrils.
ความจริงที่นอนรออยู่เบื้องหน้าของผมตอนนี้อาจเป็นได้ทั้งความหวัง หรือความสิ้นหวัง The reality that lay waiting before me could mean hope or could mean despair.
ผมนึกถึงขนมสายไหมสีชมพู พองฟู สวยเหมือนปุยเมฆ ที่พลันสลายกลายเป็นเศษของเหลวสีแดงจางๆเพียงถูกน้ำไม่กี่หยด ไม่มีวันหวนคืนดังเดิมได้อีก… I thought of the pink candy floss, fluffy, beautiful like a cloud puff, which suddenly crumbled into pinkish liquid waste. Only a few drops of water and there was no way it could return to its previous state.
ตอนนั้นก็เหมือนกับตอนนี้ เป็นเวลาที่ผมอยากมีเวทย์มนตร์… That time was like this time, a time when I’d like to have a magic spell. Magic wand might be more colloquial.
มือผมเย็นเฉียบและชาจนแทบไม่มีความรู้สึกแล้วตอนที่เอื้อมออกไปที่ผ้าสีขาวผืนนั้น My hand was so cold it could hardly feel anything when it stretched out towards that white piece of cloth.
ในสมองว่างเปล่า เหน็บหนาว… My brain was empty, numb.
ผมหลับตาลงในวินาทีที่ผ้าผืนนั้นถูกเปิดออก เผยใบหน้านั้น… I closed my eyes the second that piece of cloth was removed, revealing the face there…
= ‘Nong’ in Mahorasop Yang Mai La Rong (And the beat goes on),
Matichon Publishing, 2014
==

=

By the same author: ‘The locksmith at the crossroads’ in 13 Thai short stories – 2013

=
Married to another writer, Notthee Sasiwimon, 34, is a rising star in the current Thai literary firmament. A graduate in clinical and community psychology, she already has five collections of short stories and three literary awards to her credit … as well as a four-year-old son.
=notthee sas

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment